• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

Technical Working Group on Nuclear Power Plant Operations (TWG-NPPOPS)

The IAEA Technical Working Group on Nuclear Power Plant Operation (TWG-NPPOPS) is an advisory group of high-level executives from Member States with operating or soon to be operating nuclear power plants (NPPs). Reflecting a global network of excellence and expertise in leadership, they provide advice to the IAEA and support programme implementation in the area of management and strategies for safe, sustainable and effective NPP operations.

The TWG-NPPOPS was established in 2018. Members of the TWG-NPPOPS are appointed by the IAEA Deputy Director General, Head of the Department of Nuclear Energy, following consultations with national authorities. They serve for a minimum of four years in their personal capacity.  During its first term (2018-2022), the working group is chaired by Dominique Minière of France.

Scope and Functions

With the understanding that nuclear power is and will continue to be an important part of global energy generation, the main goal of the working group is to contribute to ensuring the safe and efficient operation of NPPs for a clean and affordable provision of electricity and energy by nuclear power.

The scope of the TWG-NPPOPS covers all aspects of exemplary NPP operation and maintenance, such as plant safety, performance and health; maintenance, refurbishment and modernization; outage and operation management; organizational culture and management of safety and performance; programmes, processes and procedures for NPP operation; enhancement of robustness, resiliency and compliance; and strategic or functional leadership.

The TWG-NPPOPS discusses the status of nuclear electricity and energy generation and visions, strategies and policies for its future. It identifies challenges and explores and harmonizes solutions to be implemented in policies, programmes, processes and procedures for NPP operation and maintenance.

Current Members

Membership in the TWG-NPPOPS is open to executives from the 30 countries with operating NPPs and from soon to be operating Members States. Currently, Argentina, Armenia, Brazil, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Finland, France, India, Iran, Japan, Rep. of Korea, Pakistan, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sweden, Ukraine, UK and USA have designated members.

The TWG-NPPOPS also includes executives from non-governmental organizations and initiatives that support operating NPPs. Currently the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), the Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) and the World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO), as well as the Pressurized Water Reactor Owners Group (PWROG), Boiling Water Reactor Owners Group (BWROG) and CANDU Owners Group (COG) have designated their representatives to this technical working group.


The TWG-NPPOPS meets once a year at the IAEA Headquarters in Vienna during the week adjacent to the annual IAEA General Conference. It may also hold ad-hoc meetings.


  1. Employment
  2. Women
  3. Press

Stay in touch