• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

You are here

Free Safety Standards E-Learning Course Launched


The IAEA has launched a new online learning course specific to the IAEA safety standards in order to provide interested stakeholders a better understanding of the basis of the safety standards, how they are developed and how they are used and applied in the peaceful uses of nuclear applications.

“The newly developed e-learning course, The IAEA Safety Standards Overview, provides an ideal introduction to the purpose and scope of the IAEA safety standards,” said Juan Carlos Lentijo, Deputy Director General for Nuclear Safety and Security of the IAEA, adding that “the course highlights the safety objective and the ten safety principles that form the basis of the safety standards. The course also explains the hierarchy and structure of the safety standards series.”

The IAEA safety standards are a series of publications that contain principles, requirements and recommendations to enhance nuclear and radiation safety. Regulating safety is a national responsibility and the IAEA safety standards help regulators and operators achieve higher standards of safety.

This e-learning course is available for free and can be completed at any time. Completion of this course will enable individuals to have a better understanding of a major series of IAEA publications.

“We were organising an awareness training for new staff at our Regulatory Organisation. We were looking for a clear and concise overview of the IAEA Safety Standards. This training was of great use for that purpose,” said Paul Hinrichsen, a representative of the National Nuclear Regulator of South Africa.

IAEA safety standards are developed and revised through a rigorous process of international consensus building and represent the international consensus on what constitutes a high level of safety for protecting people and the environment from harmful effects of ionizing radiation. The e-learning course explains this step-by-step process and identifies the principle stakeholders for each step. Additionally, information is provided on how to download and purchase safety standards and how to navigate the online searchable interface, ‘Nuclear Safety and Security Online User Interface” .

The first IAEA Safety Standard was published in 1958. Since then, the IAEA Safety Standard series has expanded and now contains over 130 publications. The safety standards cover the safety of nuclear facilities, radiation sources in medical and industrial applications, transport of radioactive material, radioactive waste management, as well as preparedness and response to nuclear or radiological emergencies. “These standards are widely adopted in national regulations and form the basis for several international legal instruments,” said Lentijo.

The target audience for this e-learning course are employees of the national and international organizations who are involved into drafting and application of national standards and regulations, as well as individuals who are interested in learning more about the IAEA safety standards and how to apply them.

Stay in touch