• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

Technical Working Group on Small and Medium Sized or Modular Reactors (TWG-SMR)

The IAEA Technical Working Group on Small and Medium Sized or Modular Reactors (TWG-SMR) is an advisory group of high-level experts from Member States with interest in the development and future deployment of SMRs.

The TWG-SMR was established in 2018 to provide advice, recommendations and support to the IAEA for the programmatic planning and implementation related to technology development, design deployment and economics of SMRs that can be used for the production of electricity and/or industrial process heat in both expanding and embarking countries.

The members of the TWG-SMR are appointed by the IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Nuclear Energy for a fixed term of four years, following consultation with the respective national authorities and organizations.

Scope and Functions

The Technical Working Group will provide advice, recommendations and formulate programmatic guidance for the IAEA’s activities on SMRs, specifically in the following areas:

  • Research, technology development and innovation;
  • Development of generic technical requirements for user countries;
  • Technology assessment approaches for advanced SMR designs;
  • Reliability, safeguardability, and constructability;
  • Codes and design standardization of structures, systems and components;
  • Industrialization of SMRs, covering design, engineering, manufacturing and supply chain;
  • Site characterization;
  • Economic competitiveness, financial considerations, market needs and cost analysis;
  • Capacity building for embarking and expanding nuclear countries;
  • International cooperation.

Three technical subgroups were established:

  • SG-1: Development of generic user requirements and criteria;
  • SG-2: Research, technology development and innovation; codes and standards;
  • SG-3: Industrialization, design engineering, testing, manufacturing, supply chain, and construction technology.


Full Members of the TWG-SMR include:

Argentina, Australia, Canada, China, Finland, France, India, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenia, Republic of Korea, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America.


Joint Research Centre of the European Commission (EC-JCR) and OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (OECD/NEA)


The TWG-SMR will meet at regular intervals but not more frequently than once a year with each meeting lasting up to four workings days. Extraordinary meetings may be called when required.

Stay in touch