• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

Radiation Protection in Dental Radiology

25 November 2022


Recording →

Moderators: Jenia Vassileva (IAEA), Jeffery Price (IADMFR)


Ruben Pauwels (Aarhus University, Denmark)

Erwin Berkhout (Academic Centre for Dentistry Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Eva Levring Jäghagen (Umeå University, Sweden)

Reinhilde Jacobs (KU Leuven, Belgium)

Organized jointly with the International Association of DentoMaxilloFacial Radiology (IADMFR)

About the webinar

X ray imaging is extensively used in dentistry to diagnose, plan and monitor treatments and to follow up pathological conditions .According to the recent estimates of the United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR), approximately 26% of all global diagnostic radiological examinations in 2020 were dental X rays, double the 2008 estimate. Globally, over one billion dental X rays are performed each year using various techniques.

As new technologies emerge to improve dental diagnostic X ray imaging, advanced education and training in radiation protection are key to ensuring that dental professionals are using the equipment in the safest way possible.

A recently published IAEA Safety Report on Radiation Protection of Dental Radiology, endorsed by the IADMFR, as well as by the World Dental Federation, Image Gently Alliance and the International Organization for Medical Physics, provides specific and detailed guidance on best practices to dental professionals as well as radiation protection experts, regulators and manufacturers of dental imaging equipment. This webinar will provide an overview of the new guidelines and will discuss their implementation into the education and training and clinical practice.

Learning objectives

1. To learn more about the new IAEA guidelines on radiation protection in dental radiology

2. To be able to refer to these guidelines when addressing students and other professionals  

3. To be able to clinically implement these guidelines

Dr. Ruben Pauwels is a Master in Biomedical Sciences and Master in Medical Imaging. His PhD project at the Catholic University of Leuven (Belgium) was part of the Euratom project ‘SEDENTEXCT: Safety and efficacy of a new and emerging dental X-ray modality’ (2008-2011). In the following years, he worked as a postdoctoral researcher at the Department of Imaging & Pathology and Department of Mechanical Engineering at KU Leuven, as a lecturer at Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand and as a visiting researcher at the University of São Paulo and University of Campinas, Brazil. Currently, he is an Associate Professor - Marie Curie Fellow at the Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies, Aarhus University, Denmark. He has editorial/advisory roles in several journals, including Dentomaxillofacial Radiology, British Journal of Radiology, Sensors and Journal of Endodontics.

Prof. Jeffery Price is Clinical Professor and Director of the Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology Department at the University of Maryland School of Dentistry in Baltimore, Maryland, USA and adjunct associate professor of oral and maxillofacial radiology at the University of North Carolina (UNC) School of Dentistry.

Prof. Price completed a two-year hospital general practice residency at Mount Sinai Beth Israel medical center in New York before earning his Fellowship at the American Association of Hospital Dentists. He then practiced general dentistry for 24 years before entering oral and maxillofacial radiology. While in practice, Prof Price received the Mastership of the Academy of General Dentistry as well as Diplomate accreditation from the International Congress of Oral Implantologists. Prof Price is currently a co-principle investigator for a National Science Foundation-funded research project entitled “A Machine Learning Framework for Comprehensive Dental Caries Detection”. He previously served as Chair of the education committee for the American Dental Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiologists. Prof. Price is a USA Director for the International Association of DentoMaxillofacial Radiology (IADMFR) and Secretary of its Board. He also serves on the editorial board for the Dentomaxillofacial Radiology journal and the Academy of General Dentistry Self-Instruction Committee and reviews several other journals.

Prof. Eva Levring Jäghagen is Head of the Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology unit and Deputy Head of the Department of Odontology, Faculty of Medicine, Umeå University, Sweden. She is a specialist in DentoMaxilloFacial Radiology (DMFR) (4-year program) since 1995 and received her PhD in 2000. Prof. Levring Jäghagen is a senior consultant in DMFR, and an examiner and teacher for several under- and postgraduate courses, including supervision and examiner of specialist trainees, PhD and MSc students. She was awarded for her contributions to undergraduate education in 2017 and research education in 2021 and she has been an invited lecturer in national and international meetings. The focus of her research is on swallowing dysfunction in snorers, elderly and head and neck cancer patients, as well as the benefit of detecting carotid artery calcifications in panoramic radiographs for prevention of cardiovascular events. Dr. Levring Jäghagen is appointed Regional Director representing Europe in IADMFR. She was President of the European Academy of DentoMaxilloFacial Radiology (EADMFR), 2016–2018.

Dr. Reinhilde Jacobs is dentist, Doctor in Dental Sciences (PhD University of Leuven), periodontologist (KU Leuven) and Master in Dental Radiology (University of London). She is full professor at the University of Leuven and visiting professor at Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden and the Dalian Medical University in China. R. Jacobs is heading the omfs impath research group of the KU Leuven (omfsimpath.be) and the clinical center of dentomaxillofacial radiology (UZleuven). She is Secretary General of the International Association of DentoMaxilloFacial Radiology. She is section editor of 4 journals (Clinical Oral Investigations, International Journal of Oral Implantology, European Journal of Radiology and Oral Radiology). She has received the D Collen Research Travel Award (1994), a postdoctoral fellowship of the European Commission (1994-95), the IADR Young Investigators Award (1998) and the Belgian Joachim Award in Odontostomatology (1999). In 2013, she received a Dr Honoris Causa at the "Iuliu Hatieganu" University of Medicine and Pharmacy in Cluj-Napoca. She is involved in many multidisciplinary and interuniversity research collaborations, with a specific focus on imaging research, artificial intelligence and bioprinting. She has been actively participating in 5 European projects and is (co-)author of 5 books and more than 550 publications in peer-reviewed journals besides multiple invited lectures and publications in other journals or books. Scopus (2022): h:72

Associate professor Erwin Berkhout is dentist and Head of the department of Oral Radiology at the Academic Centre for Dentistry Amsterdam (ACTA), University of Amsterdam. He received his PhD on the topic of Digital Dental Radiography in 2007 and obtained his diploma as Radiation Expert in 2013.
He is President of the European Academy for DentoMaxilloFacial Radiology (EADMFR) (2022-2024) as well as chairman of the Dutch Society for DentoMaxilloFacial Radiology (NVDMFR).
His research focus is in Artificial Intelligence support of dental radiological diagnosis and in radiation protection in oral radiology.
He has a strong background and interest in education, especially in contemporary interactive teaching and the development of computer aided learning tools. He has been nominated and awarded ‘’lecturer of the year’’ in 2014, 2015, 2019 and 2020.

Stay in touch