• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

You are here

Vanuatu Signs its Second Country Programme Framework (CPF) for 2024–2029

IAEA staff at the signing of Vanuatu’s Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2024–2029. (Photo: R. Fraga/IAEA) 

Mr Matai Seremiah Nawalu, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, International Cooperation and External Trade, and Mr Hua Liu, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation, signed Vanuatu’s Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2024–2029 on 5 July 2024. A CPF is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA and identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals.

Vanuatu has been an IAEA Member State since 2015. Its 2024–2029 CPF identifies four priority areas:

  1. Radiation safety and nuclear security
  2. Food and agriculture
  3. Health and nutrition  
  4. Water and environment

These priority areas will be addressed through the national programme and complementarily with the projects under the Sub Regional Approach to the Pacific Islands (SAPI) initiative.

Stay in touch