You are here

Candidates for IAEA Director General Nominated

The governments of Argentina, Burkina Faso, Romania and Slovakia have submitted candidates for IAEA Director General to the Agency's Board of Governors. Argentina has nominated Mr Rafael Mariano Grossi. Burkina Faso has nominated Mr Lassina Zerbo. Romania has nominated Mr Cornel Feruţă. Slovakia has nominated Ms Marta Žiaková. 

The four candidates were nominated in accordance with the procedures for appointing a new Director General agreed by the Board on 1 August after the passing away of Director General Yukiya Amano.

The Board decided that 5 September was the closing date for the receipt of nominations. Board Chair Leena Al-Hadid, Ambassador of Jordan, on 6 September informed IAEA Member States of the nominations she had received by this deadline.

The Board expects to appoint a Director General in October and, in any case, envisages that the person appointed will assume office no later than 1 January, 2020.

In order to be appointed, a candidate must secure a two-thirds majority in the 35-member IAEA Board of Governors. If a two-thirds majority is not achieved, the nomination process begins again.

The Board’s appointment of a new Director General will be submitted for approval by the IAEA General Conference.


Mr Amano was the IAEA’s fifth Director General since 1957. He was first appointed to the office effective December 2009 and reappointed in 2013 and 2017. He passed away on 18 July, 2019. He followed Mohamed ElBaradei, IAEA Director General from 1997 to 2009; Hans Blix, IAEA Director General from 1981 to 1997; Sigvard Eklund, IAEA Director General from 1961 to 1981; and Sterling Cole, IAEA Director General from 1957 to 1961.

Stay in touch