You are here

Ambassador Darmansjah Djumala of Indonesia Takes Over as New Chairman of IAEA Board of Governors

Governor Darmansjah Djumala of Indonesia (centre), the new Chairman of the IAEA Board of Governors. (Photo: D. Calma/IAEA)

The IAEA Board of Governors elected by acclamation the Governor of Indonesia, Ambassador Darmansjah Djumala, as the Chairman of the IAEA’s Board of Governors for 2017-2018. His one-year term starts today. He replaces Ambassador Tebogo Seokolo of South Africa.

Ambassador Darmansjah Djumala is Indonesia’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations and International Organizations in Vienna and is also his country's Ambassador to Austria and Slovenia.

Since joining the Indonesian Foreign Service in 1985, he has served as Head of the Sub-Division of Financial and Economic Cooperation, Embassy of Indonesia in Tokyo, Japan from 1988 to 1992; Permanent Representative of Indonesia to Switzerland to the World Trade Organization (WTO) in Geneva from 1994 to 1996; Consul General of Indonesia in New York from 1996 to 1998 and Indonesia’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York from 2001 to 2003.

In Europe, Ambassador Djumala served as the Deputy Chief of Mission in Belgium from 2003 to 2005 and as Ambassador to Poland from 2010 to 2014.

He has held a number of important positons in the Indonesian Foreign Ministry, including Director of the Diplomatic Training and Education Center from 2006 to 2010 and Director General of the Policy Analysis and Development Agency from 2014 to 2015. Prior to taking up his current assignment, Ambassador Djumala was the Chief of the President’s Office and Secretary to the President from 2015 to 2017.

Ambassador Djumala is a lecturer at the postgraduate school of the Faculty of Social and Political Science in the University of Padjadjaran in Bandung and at the Faculty of Defence Strategy in the National Defense University, Jakarta.

Ambassador Djumala has a Ph.D. in Politics and Government from the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences, Padjadjaran University in Bandung, a Master of Arts in International Relations from Webster University in Geneva and a Bachelor’s Degree in Economics and Development Studies from the Sriwijaya University in Palembang.

During the one-day session, the Board of Governors also elected the two Vice-Chairs, Governor of Denmark Liselotte Kjærsgaard Plesner and Governor of Slovenia Andrej Benedejčič.

Eleven countries have been newly elected to serve on the 35-member IAEA Board of Governors for the period 2017–2018. The election took place on Thursday 21 September at the plenary session of the IAEA General Conference. The newly elected Board members are Armenia, Belgium, Chile, Indonesia, Jordan, Kenya, the Republic of Korea, Portugal, Serbia, the Sudan and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

For the 2017–18 period, the new composition of the 35-member IAEA Board is as follows: Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, the Republic of Korea, the Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, the Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, the Sudan, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.


Last update: 26 Mar 2018

Stay in touch