• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

Board of Governors: Chair for 2008-2009

Taous Feroukhi, Ambassador and Resident Representative of Algeria

Taous Feroukhi

The Chair of the Board of Governors for 2008-2009 is the Ambassador and Resident Representative of Algeria, Mrs. Taous Feroukhi. She succeeded the Governor of the Republic of Chile, Mr. Milenko E. Skoknic.

Mrs. Feroukhi took up her current assignment as Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to Austria, to the Slovak Republic, and Permanent Representative of Algeria to the Office of the United Nations and International Organisations in Vienna in November 2001.

Mrs. Feroukhi obtained a degree in Human Sciences from the "Université d´Alger". She has a diploma from the Institute of Political Sciences Studies and holds a post-graduate degree in International Relations.

Born in Algeria, Mrs. Feroukhi started her diplomatic career in 1977 at the Algerian Foreign Ministry. She has extensive experience and knowledge in multilateral diplomacy. From 1996 to 2001, she held the position of "Chargée d´Etudes et de Synthese" in the Cabinet of the Minister for Foreign Affairs and "Chargée de Mission" in the Cabinet of the President of the Republic, in charge of a wide range of international issues.

Mrs. Feroukhi has served in the Embassies of Algeria in Ottawa, Madrid and Geneva. She was involved in international negotiations related to the Helsinki Process, Uruguay World Trade Agreements, NPT Review Conference, Climate Change Convention, Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty, UN Convention Against Transnational Organised Crime, and UN Convention Against Corruption.

She chaired the Working Group on Definition and Delimitation of Outer Space, the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organisation (CTBTO), the Advisory Committee on Safeguards and Verification within the IAEA Statute, and the Committee of the Whole of the lAEA´s 50th General Conference. She also headed the Algerian Delegation to the First Preparatory Committee of the Non-Proliferation Treaty Review Conference (NPT).

Stay in touch