• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

Board of Governors: Chair for 2016-2017

Ambassador Tebogo Seokolo, the newly elected Chairman of the IAEA's Board of Governors for 2016-17, is South Africa's Permanent Representative to the United Nations and International Organizations in Vienna and is also his country's Ambassador to Austria, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Since joining the South African Foreign Service in 1995, his appointments have included serving at the South African Embassy in The Netherlands, and as Deputy and Acting Chief of State Protocol and Chief Director for Western Europe in the Department of International Relations and Cooperation in Pretoria. He also served as South Africa\s Ambassador to Turkey, Azerbaijan and Uzbekistan.

In his current assignment, Ambassador Seokolo has served as the co-Chair of the Friends of ReNuAL — the IAEA project to renovate its Nuclear Applications Laboratories in Seibersdorf, Austria; Chairperson of the African Group (July to December 2015); President of the Board of UNIDO (November 2014 to June 2015); Vice Chairperson of the PrepCom of the CTBTO; Vice-Chairperson of the United Nations Crime Congress (2015) and 2nd Vice Chair of the 25th Session of the United Nations Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice.

Ambassador Seokolo has a Master's degree in Diplomatic Studies from the University of Pretoria and a Bachelor's degree in History and English Literature from the Vista University.

Stay in touch