• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

Technical Working Group on Nuclear Power Plant Instrumentation and Control (TWG-NPPIC)

The Technical Working Group on Nuclear Power Plant Instrumentation and Control (TWG-NPPIC) is a group of experts from IAEA Member States, nominated by their Governments and appointed by the IAEA Deputy Director General, Head of the Department of Nuclear Energy.  These experts provide advice to the IAEA and support the programme implementation in the area of instrumentation and control (I&C) and human-system interface (HSI) technologies in nuclear power plants. The TWG identifies and promotes activities that would assist I&C experts at nuclear utilities, licensing authorities, vendors, technical support and research organizations.

Scope and Functions

The TWG-NPPIC’s scope covers all aspects of the life cycle of I&C systems and equipment from feasibility study and design through installation, commissioning and licensing to operation, maintenance and decommissioning. The interface of the equipment with the operators and other systems, and the interdependence with other fields, such as I&C aspects of reactor physics and human factors engineering also fall into the TWG-NPPIC’s scope of work.

Established in 1971, the TWG-NPPIC has a long history of activities. It has initiated and contributed to many symposia and specialists’ meetings and supervised numerous coordinated research projects. It has also been instrumental in the creation of various technical reports and Nuclear Energy Series publications providing guidance for nuclear power plants, regulators and vendors in the I&C field. Through its network of members, it has provided a stable planning platform for the activities as well as efficient channels of communication among I&C experts in IAEA Member States. The presentation of national reports at the regular TWG meetings have provided an important basis for identifying future IAEA activities in the I&C area, as well as subjects to be addressed at IAEA technical meetings and other international events.

Current Members

Brazil, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC–TC45).


In May 2017, the TWG-NPPIC held its 26th biennial regular meeting at the IAEA in Vienna. For more information about past TWG meetings, please contact the IAEA Scientific Secretary.

Stay in touch