Convention on Early Notification of a Nuclear Accident


Adopted in 1986 following the Chernobyl nuclear plant accident, the Convention on Early Notification of a Nuclear Accident establishes a notification system for nuclear accidents which have the potential for international transboundary release that could be of radiological safety significance for another State. It requires States to report the accident's time, location, radiation releases, and other data essential for assessing the situation. Notification is to be made to affected States directly or through the IAEA, and to the IAEA itself. Reporting is mandatory for any nuclear accident involving facilities and activities listed in Article 1. Pursuant to Article 3, States may notify other accidents as well. The five nuclear-weapon States (China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and United States) have all declared their intent also to report accidents involving nuclear weapons and nuclear weapons tests.

For additional information, see the General Conference document on Measures to Strengthen International Co-Operation in Nuclear, Radiation and Waste Safety, particularly Annex 1. GC(44)/INF/4.


Date of adoption: 26 September 1986
Place of adoption: Vienna, Austria
Date of entry into force: 27 October 1986
Languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish
Depositary Governments: International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)


  1. Employment
  2. Women
  3. Press

Stay in touch