• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

You are here

IAEA to Assist Brazil on Nuclear Security at 2016 Olympic Games

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the Government of Brazil signed an agreement today aimed at enhancing nuclear security measures for the Olympic Games and Paralympic Games to be held in Rio de Janeiro later this year.

The IAEA will provide Brazil with radiation detection equipment and other nuclear security assistance for the sporting events, which take place 5-21 August and 7-18 September. The two sides also agreed to share information on illicit trafficking and other unauthorized activities involving nuclear and other radioactive material. In particular, the IAEA will provide an analysis based on events reported to the IAEA’s Incident and Trafficking Database (ITDB).

The agreement was signed in Rio de Janeiro by Renato Machado Cotta, President of Brazil’s National Commission for Nuclear Energy (CNEN), and Khammar Mrabit, Director of the IAEA’s Division of Nuclear Security.

Under the plan, which will be jointly implemented by the IAEA Division of Nuclear Security and CNEN, the IAEA will loan Brazil selected types of radiation detection devices, including personal radiation detectors, radionuclide identification devices, portable radiation scanners, and high-purity germanium detectors.

The IAEA, upon request and under the terms of the Convention on Assistance in the Case of a Nuclear Accident or Radiological Emergency, is also prepared to provide and/or facilitate assistance in the event of a nuclear or radiological emergency.

The IAEA serves as the global platform for strengthening nuclear security and assists Member States to prevent, detect and respond to theft, sabotage, unauthorized access, illegal transfer, or other malicious acts involving nuclear material or radioactive substances.

The IAEA has been involved in previous efforts to help ensure security at major sporting events, including the Pan American Games in Rio de Janeiro in 2007 and Guadalajara, Mexico, in 2011; the Olympic Games in Beijing in 2008; the Commonwealth Games in Delhi in 2010; the European soccer Championships in Poland and Ukraine in 2012; and the World Cup tournaments in Germany (2006), South Africa (2010) and Brazil (2014).

Stay in touch