You are here

Zambia Signs its Fourth Country Programme Framework (CPF) for 2016–2021

Honourable Professor Nkandu Luo, MP, Minister of Higher Education, UN Resident Coordinator, Ms Janet Rogan, IAEA Staff, and attendees at the ceremony. (photo: C.Mwaaba/Times of Zambia)

Honourable Professor Nkandu Luo, MP, Minister of Higher Education and Mr Dazhu Yang, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation, have signed Zambia’s Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2016–2021 on 22 December 2016 and 9 January 2017 respectively. The CPF was handed to the Minister on behalf of the IAEA by the Programme Management Officer, Mr Muhammed Lameen Abdul-Malik, at an official ceremony in Lusaka on 1 February 2017.

A CPF is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA. It identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals

Zambia has been an IAEA Member State since 1969. Its 2016–2021 CPF identifies five priority areas:

  1. Agriculture and Food Security
  2. Human Health
  3. Radiation and Waste Safety
  4. Nuclear Science and Education
  5. Energy 


  1. Employment
  2. Women
  3. Press

Stay in touch