• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

You are here

Turkey signs a Country Programme Framework (CPF) for 2013-2017

CPF Turkey 2

Zafer Alper, President of the Turkish Atomic Energy Authority and Kwaku Aning, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation (TC), signed Turkey's Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2013-2017 on 17 September 2013. A Country Programme Framework is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA and identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals.

Turkey has been an IAEA Member State since 1957. Its 2013-2017 CPF identifies five priority areas:

1. Development of a regulatory body's management system
2. Enhancement of licencing capabilities in association with characterization of the Sinop NPP site
3. Enhancement of radiopharmaceutical production skills and quality control
4. Development of nuclear power related workforce
5. Establishment of a nuclear fuel management strategy

While being a beneficiary of the IAEA's TC programme, Turkey remains committed to providing its support to technical cooperation activities through cost-sharing and offering expertise available in various national institutions, particularly in nuclear analytical techniques, non-destructive testing and other nuclear applications, as well as continuing its support to IAEA activities as a host country.


Last update: 26 Jul 2017

Stay in touch