• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

You are here

Partners in Educating a New Generation of Nuclear Leaders

Mr. Laursen (left) and Mr. Sokolov (middle) sign the agreement. (Photo: D. Calma/IAEA)

The IAEA and the Khalifa University of Science, Technology and Research (KUSTAR), United Arab Emirates signed an agreement, or "Practical Arrangements", to establish an e-Learning Portal. This on-line resource and learning website provides materials that supplement classroom studies. On 21 September 2010, Mr. Yury A. Sokolov, IAEA Deputy Director General for Nuclear Energy, and Mr. Tod A. Laursen, President of KUSTAR, concluded the agreement to enhance their cooperation in education, training and research in nuclear science and technology.

The new e-Learning Portal, together with the Asian Network for Education in Nuclear Technology (ANENT), was recently installed at the KUSTAR Abu Dhabi campus, where it is now in pilot operation. The web portal contributes towards the United Arab Emirates´ effort to educate the experts needed to drive and sustain the nation´s nuclear power development. For the UAE, human resource development is becoming an increasingly important strategic consideration since the country has embarked upon its first nuclear power programme. KUSTAR plays a vital role as the UAE´s only educational and training institution devoted to nuclear engineering on the master's level.

In April 2009, the IAEA concluded a similar agreement with Korean Atomic Research Institute (KAERI) to enhance ANENT.


In their cooperation, the IAEA and KUSTAR promote the ANENT e-Learning system´s use. The ANENT was established in 2004 as a regional partnership for cooperation in capacity building and human resource development, including education and training in the peaceful uses of nuclear technology in Asia. ANENT currently comprises 16 member countries: Australia, Bangladesh, China, India, Indonesia, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mongolia, Pakistan, Republic of Korea, Sri Lanka, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Philippines, United Arab Emirates and Viet Nam.

Stay in touch