You are here

Nuclear Cooperation Extended in Asia and the Pacific

Countries Agree to 5-year Extension of Regional Agreement

RCA projects cover a range of fields, including health care, agriculture, industry, environment, radiation protection, and others. (Credit: H.Zhang / FAO)

Representatives from Asian and Pacific countries have reaffirmed further cooperation in the peaceful application of nuclear technology in the region, extending a longstanding agreement for another five years.

The 24th Meeting of National Representatives of the Regional Cooperative Agreement for Research, Development and Training related to Nuclear Technology in Asia and the Pacific (RCA) was held in March in Seoul, Republic of Korea. Participants there agreed to extend RCA to June 2007.

RCA is a regional cooperative framework, which was established in 1972 under the aegis of the IAEA. More than 30 regional cooperative projects among the Member States are being implemented under the framework of the RCA. These projects cover a range of fields, including agriculture, health care, industry, environment, radiation protection, energy option assessment, research reactor operation and utilization, and radioactive waste management. They contribute significantly to the improvement of quality of life and to the development of economy of the region through introducing maximum application of nuclear technologies.

RCA member countries are Australia, Bangladesh, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Viet Nam.

Also see previous story.

For further information, please contact:

Mr. C. R. Aleta,
RCA Coordinator,
IAEA Department of Technical Cooperation
Email: [email protected]

Last update: 27 July 2017