You are here

New Members Elected to IAEA Board of Governors

Board of Governors

IAEA Board of Governors. (Photo: D. Calma/IAEA)

Eleven countries have been newly elected to serve on the 35-member IAEA Board of Governors for the period 2017–2018. The election took place on Thursday 21 September at the plenary session of the IAEA General Conference which continues throughout the week in Vienna. The newly elected Board members are Armenia, Belgium, Chile, Indonesia, Jordan, Kenya, the Republic of Korea, Portugal, Serbia, the Sudan and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

For the 2017–18 period, the new composition of the 35-member IAEA Board is as follows: Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, the Republic of  Korea,  the Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, the Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, the Sudan, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

The Board meets on Monday 25 September 2017 to elect its officers.


Last update: 20 Sep 2018

Stay in touch