• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

You are here

New Members Elected to the IAEA Board of Governors

IAEA Board of Governors meeting in Vienna, Austria. (Photo credit: D. Calma/IAEA)

Eleven countries have been newly elected to serve on the 35-member IAEA Board of Governors for the period 2006-2007. The action was taken by Member States meeting at the IAEA General Conference in Vienna this week.

The newly elected Board members are Austria, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Croatia, Ethiopia, Finland, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, and Thailand.

The full 35-member Board for the 2006-2007 period includes Argentina, Austria, Australia, Brazil, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Libya, Morocco, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Slovenia, South Africa, Syria, Thailand, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of America.

The Board will convene briefly next week to elect its officers for the period 2006–2007.

Note: The Board of Governors is composed of 35 Member States, as designated and elected by the General Conference. The newly elected members take the seats of members who have ended their two-year period of service: Algeria, Ecuador, Ghana, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Venzuela and Yemen. See Story Resources for Board rules and procedures.

Last update: 27 Jul 2017

Stay in touch