• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

You are here

IAEA and ASEAN Strengthen Cooperation in Nuclear Science, Technology and Applications, and Nuclear Safety, Security and Safeguards


The use of nuclear science and technology for peaceful purposes is to become more widespread in Southeast Asia, following the signature of Practical Arrangements between the IAEA and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) on the margins of the IAEA’s General Conference today. 

These Practical Arrangements, which were signed by IAEA Acting Director General Cornel Feruta and ASEAN Secretary-General Dato Lim Jock Hoi, set out a framework for cooperation in the areas of nuclear science, technology and applications, as well as of nuclear safety, security and safeguards, for a period of five years. They envisage that the IAEA and ASEAN work together to develop and implement projects and research activities, exchange information and share experiences and best practices, and cooperate on training and capacity-building projects, including fellowships, scientific visits and expert missions.

“The Arrangements substantially broaden the areas of cooperation between our two organizations, including on the promotion of peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology,” said IAEA Acting Director General Cornel Feruta. “They not only include policymakers and nuclear regulators who deal with nuclear safety, security and safeguards but also stakeholders from national and regional institutions working on social and social development in Southeast Asia.”

“The signing of this framework for cooperation represents a significant milestone in the cooperation between the ASEAN and IAEA and provides the foundation for our organizations to expand the work on already existing as well as new projects in Southeast Asia,” ASEAN Secretary-General Dato Lim Jock Hoi said.

On 20 September, IAEA and ASEAN representatives will meet informally to discuss possible future activities under the Practical Arrangements. The IAEA will work with ASEAN to identify cooperation projects beneficial for its Member States in the region, building on the success of existing cooperation, including a technical cooperation project on emergency preparedness and response, which resulted in a regional protocol for the coordination of response to nuclear or radiological emergencies.

ASEAN consists of ten countries in the region: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam. They are all IAEA Member States. Thailand chairs the ASEAN in 2019. The ASEAN Secretariat is in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Last update: 16 Sep 2019

Stay in touch