• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

You are here

Georgia Signs Country Programme Framework (CPF) for 2020–2025

Following his signature of the document, IAEA Deputy Director General Dazhu Yang presents the signed Country Programme Framework to the webcam during the virtual signing ceremony. (Photo: O. Yusuf/IAEA)

Vasil Gedevanishvili, Head of the Agency of Nuclear and Radiation Safety, and Dazhu Yang, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation, signed Georgia's Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2020-2025 on 26 November 2020. A CPF is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA and identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals.

Georgia has been an IAEA Member State since 1996. Its 2020-2025 CPF identifies five priority areas:

  1. Ensuring nuclear and radiation safety and security
  2. Increasing early detection and treatment of oncological diseases and preventing risk factors associated with nutrition related non-communicable diseases
  3. Ensuring food safety, improving food control systems, and improving agricultural practices
  4. Improving water resources management and environmental radiation monitoring.
  5. Assessing the national potential to use renewable energy

Eve-Külli Kala, Director of the TC Division for Europe, delivered remarks during the virtual signing ceremony and was joined by Carmina Jimenez, the IAEA Programme Management Officer responsible for Georgia's national programme. (Photo: O. Yusuf/IAEA)

The document was signed on behalf of Georgia by Vasil Gedevanishvili, Head of the Agency of Nuclear and Radiation Safety, who was joined by Ketevan Tsikhelashvili, Ambassador of Georgia to the Republic of Austria and Permanent Representative to Vienna-based International Organizations, and by Nestan Bejanishvili, Minister Counsellor and Permanent Representation of Georgia to the OSCE and UNOV. (Photo: I. Sultanishvili/MFA)

The signing-ceremony was also attended by Khatia Jikuridze, Deputy Head of the Agency of Nuclear and Radiation Safety. (Photo: ANRS)

Stay in touch