• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

You are here

Symposium on International Safeguards: Reflecting on the Past and Anticipating the Future - Programme

31 October–4 November 2022, Vienna, Austria

Symposium on International Safeguards 2022

Sneak Peak of the Programme


10:30     Opening Plenary

A Conversation on Safeguards: with IAEA Director General Rafael Mariano Grossi and award-winning journalist Barbara Serra

Keynote Address: Reflecting on the Past by Richard Rhodes

Moderated Panel Discussion: Reflecting on the Past

  • Ms Jill Cooley, former Director of IAEA Safeguards Concepts and Planning (USA)
  • Mr Trevor Findlay, Author of Transforming Nuclear Safeguards Culture: The IAEA, Iraq, and the Future of Non-Proliferation (University of Melbourne, Australia)
  • Mr Pierre Goldschmidt, former Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Safeguards (Belgium)
  • Mr Olli Heinonen, former Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Safeguards (Finland)
  • Ms Laura Rockwood, former Section Head for Safeguards in Office of Legal Affairs (USA)

Moderated Panel Discussion: Anticipating the Future

  • Ms Sama Bilbao y Leon, Director General, World Nuclear Association
  • Ms Togzhan Kassenova, Author and nonproliferation policy expert (SUNY-Albany senior fellow)
  • Mr Anton Khlopkov, Director of the Center for Energy, Nuclear and Security Studies (CENESS)
  • Ms Jeanette Kwek, Head, Centre for Strategic Futures and Director, Futures Directorate of the Office of the Prime Minister of Singapore’s Strategy Group
  • Ms Princy Mthombeni, Founder, Africa4Nuclear – nuclear energy advocate and communication specialist
  • Mr Giacomo Persi Paoli, Head of Security and Technology Programme, UN Institute for Disarmament Research (UNIDIR)


9:30     Closing Plenary

Anticipating the Future:  Recap of Futures and Results of Crowdsourcing

Voices of the Future: Panel of Future Leaders and Mr Massimo Aparo, Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Safeguards, on the Future of Safeguards

Moderator: Mr Mitchell Hewes, IAEA Division of Nuclear Security, and Vice President of the UN-Nuclear Young Generation


  • Mr Marcus Borscz, Winner of the 2022 Student Paper Competition (Australia)
  • Ms Lara Rendl, Marie Sklodowska Curie Fellow (Austria)
  • Ms Huda Altamini, Federal Authority for Nuclear Regulation, and former IAEA Trainee (UAE)
  • Ms Farnaz Alimehri, IAEA Department of Safeguards, and President of UN-NYG (USA/Iran)
  • Ms Amina Agbab Uthman, IAEA Department of Safeguards (Nigeria)
  • Mr Noah Mayhew, Vienna Center for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation (USA)

The 2022 Symposium on International Safeguards organizing team welcomes our Exhibitors and thanks our Cooperating Organizations!

Stay in touch