• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

You are here

Nuclear Energy Summit 2024 - Programme

21 March 2024, Brussels, Belgium

Nuclear Energy Summit 2024

Programme (Auditorium 2000)

 09:00 - 09:30   Arrival and Doorstep

 09:30 - 09:50   Nuclear Energy Summit participants' family photo

 09:50 - 12:00   Nuclear Energy Summit - National Statements Part I

Opening remarks by Prime Minister HE Mr Alexander De Croo and IAEA Director General Mr Rafael Mariano Grossi

Adoption of the Nuclear Energy Summit's Declaration

Statements by the Heads of State and Government

12:00-13:00     Break  [12:00 - 12:45 Press Conference ]  

13:00 - 13:50   Nuclear Energy Summit – National Statements Part II

13:50 - 14:00   Break

Panel Discussions

14:00-15:50     Panel # 1 - Relevant Factors Influencing the Deployment of New, or Prolongation of Existing, Nuclear Capacity

The panel discussion will evolve around the following topics: 

  • Challenges of decarbonization
  • Transition to NetZero scenarios
  • Sustainable development and clean energy transition
  • Innovation in the clean energy transition
  • Energy policies and energy security
  • Funding and financing nuclear projects
  • Public perception of nuclear power and stakeholder engagement
  • Talent attraction and qualified workforce development
  • Sustainability of the life cycle of nuclear facilities
  • Infrastructure development for a nuclear power programme
  • End-users' perspective

14:00 - 14:40     Part I - Global and Regional Perspectives

Moderator: Mr Chris Burns, Journalist & TV Anchor


Ms Kadri Simson, European Commissioner for Energy 

Mr Gerben Dijksterhuis, President of the Group of European Municipalities with Nuclear Facilities (GMF) and Mayor of Borssele

Ms Melanie Nakagawa, Corporate Vice President and Chief Sustainability Officer, Microsoft

14:40-14:50     Break

14:50-15:50     Part II -  National Perspectives

Moderator: Ms Martina Fuchs, Business Correspondent, Xinhua News Agency


HE Ms Tinne Van der Straeten, Minister of Energy, Belgium

HE Mr Rumen Radev, Minister of Energy, Bulgaria

HE Mr Csaba Lantos, Minister of Energy, Hungary

Mr LIU Jing, Vice Chairman, China Atomic Energy Authority (CAEA)

Ms Geraldine Richmond, Under Secretary for Science and Innovation at the Department of Energy (DOE), United States of America

15:50- 16:00    Break

16:00-17:00     Panel #2 - Advancements in Nuclear Technology for Energy Production

The panel discussion will evolve around the following topics:

  • New nuclear reactors for energy decarbonization, including beyond electricity production
  • The power of hybrid nuclear-renewable energy systems
  • Strengthening NPP operation, including Long Term Operation, climate resilience, and securing supply chains
  • Nuclear fusion technology development and deployment

Moderator: Mr Jeff Donovan, IAEA


Mr Pietro Barabaschi, Director General, ITER

Mr Shudong CAO, Vice President, CNNC

Ms Kathryn Huff, Assistant Secretary, Office of Nuclear Energy, United States of America

Mr Han Gyu JOO, President, Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI)   

Mr Luc Rémont, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Électricité de France (EDF) 

Ms Melanie Windridge, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Fusion Energy Insights

17:00-17:10     Break

17:10-18:00     Panel #3 - Innovation Throughout the Nuclear Fuel Cycle and the Life Cycle of Nuclear Facilities

The panel discussion will evolve around the following topics: 

  • Radioactive waste and nuclear spent fuel management (including circular economy)
  • Fuel supply chains for SMRs and advanced reactors, including uranium supplies
  • Innovation in fuel designs, including Advanced Technology Fuels
  • Decommissioning of nuclear facilities

Moderator: Ms Jessica Johnson, Communication & Advocacy Director, nucleareurope


Mr Peter Baeten, Director General, Belgian Nuclear Research Center (SCK-CEN)

Mr Tim Gitzel, President and Chief Executive Officer, CAMECO

Ms Tiina Jalonen, Senior Vice President, Posiva Oy

Mr Masanori Koguchi, President, Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA)

Ms Laurence Piketty, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, French Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)

18:00-18:10     Break

18:10-19:20     Panel # 4 - Establishing a Level Playing Field for Financing Nuclear Power

The panel discussion will evolve around the following topics:

  • Investments for the clean energy transition
  • Electricity market designs
  • Taxonomies and ESG
  • Funding and financing nuclear projects
  • Industry incentives/subsidies
  • Role of multilateral development banks, investment banks and private equity capital in financing nuclear projects

Moderator: Ms Maria G. Korsnick, President and Chief Executive Officer, Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI)


HE Mr Jozef Sikela, Minister of Industry and Trade, Czech Republic

Mr Ernest Moniz, Chief Executive Officer, Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI)

Mr Thomas Östros, Vice-President, European Investment Bank

Mr Charles Oppenheimer, Founder of the Oppenheimer Project and Chief Executive Officer, Oppenheimer Energy Ventures

Ms Ines Rocha, Managing Director Impact & PartnershipsEuropean Bank for Reconstruction and Development  (EBRD)

Ms Jaana Isotalo, Senior Vice President, HR & Communication, Teollisuuden Voima Oyj (TVO)

Mr Fernando Cubillos, Manager of New Business, CAF - Development Bank of Latin America

19:20 – 19:30    Break 

19:30 - 19:45    Nuclear Industry’s Declaration ceremony

19:45 - 21:00    Reception

20:00 - 20:30     First round of side events

20:30 - 21:00     Second round of side events

Stay in touch