Board of Governors

The Board of Governors generally meets five times per year: in March and June, twice in September (before and after the General Conference) and in December.

At its meetings, the Board examines and makes recommendations to the General Conference on the IAEA's accounts, programme and budget, and considers applications for membership. It also approves safeguards agreements and the publication of the IAEA's safety standards and has the responsibility of appointing the Director General of the IAEA with the approval of the General Conference. 

Board Members for 2015-2016

For the 2015-2016 period, the new composition of the 35-member IAEA Board is: Argentina, Australia, Belarus, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, India, Ireland, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Malaysia, Mexico, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Paraguay, Philippines, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America, and Uruguay.

Officers of the Board

The Chair of the Board of Governors for 2015-2016 is the Governor from Brazil, Ambassador Laércio Antonio Vinhas.  He succeeds Marta Ziaková, Governor from Slovakia.

The Ambassadors and Resident Representatives of Germany and Latvia were elected as Vice-Chairs. They are: Friedrich Dauble, Governor from Germany, and Bahtihjors Hasans, Governor from Latvia.

Last update: 26 January 2016