• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

Education Capability Assessment and Planning Assist Mission (ECAP)

The Education Capability Assessment and Planning (ECAP) framework and assist missions help developing countries establish sustainable nuclear education as part of their national development priorities. ECAP provides a process for planning and assessing how higher education contributes to the promotion and development of nuclear science and technology.

Education and training in nuclear science and technology is essential to building the human resources necessary for sectors where nuclear techniques are applied. The IAEA’s ECAP framework provides a process for developing countries to establish sustainable nuclear education and training programmes that are tailored to their national needs. The result of the ECAP process can contribute towards the development of national strategies and action plans, as well as national project proposals under the IAEA Technical Cooperation Programme.

Upon request from Member States, the IAEA provides ECAP Assist Missions which cover both strategic and methodological aspects to establishing sustainable nuclear education, as well as practical guidelines on how to facilitate the collaboration between key stakeholders from  government, education and industry. The ECAP Assist Missions also provide a forum for exchanging experiences and information on the implementation of sustainable nuclear education programmes, including the presenting of lessons learned and good practices, as well as recommendations to enhance and continuously improve government-education-industry interaction and coordination necessary for achieving sustainable national nuclear education programmes.

The ECAP process is implemented in multiple phases and can be delivered in separate missions with the assistance of the IAEA. Different phases can be completed within a span of 2-4 years depending on the levels of advancement of the nuclear education system and the level of engagement by partner institutions of a hosting country. 

The main phases of the ECAP process include:

•          Phase I: Establish a baseline for nuclear education resources and capabilities;

•          Phase II: Optimize collaboration between stakeholders;

•          Phase III: Develop strategy and implementation guidelines;

•          Phase IV: Produce national benchmarks for monitoring and evaluating progress.


  1. Employment
  2. Women
  3. Press

Stay in touch