1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content
  4. Skip to sidebar

Technical cooperation strategy

The IAEA’s technical cooperation activities are guided by the Technical Cooperation Strategy, drawn up in 1997. It was timely. The IAEA had played an important role in transferring isotope and nuclear technologies with applications in industry, human health, agriculture, water management and other sectors. The objectives of these efforts were largely technical, and they played a significant role in establishing and developing technical capacities.

The Strategy was drawn up to concentrate more on providing significant socioeconomic benefits. A shift in emphasis was occurring: away from project activities directed at building capacity in nuclear authorities and institutions, and towards collaboration with counterpart organizations to use this capacity for productive and sustainable human development.

The 1997 Technical Cooperation Strategy introduced three new tools: Model Projects, Country Programme Frameworks and Thematic Plans. Model Projects were designed to set and maintain standards of quality in project design; Country Programme Frameworks focused on agreed priority national development needs; and Thematic Plans concentrated on identifying and promoting nuclear and isotopic techniques that offered clear cost-benefit advantages in achieving sustainable development.

In 2002, the Strategy was reviewed, and six main fields for technical cooperation intervention were identified: human health, agricultural productivity and food security, the management of water resources, environmental protection, the physical and chemical applications of radiation and radioisotopes and sustainable energy development. Model Projects had evolved into a ‘central criterion’, widely used in the prioritization and selection of projects.

A project meets the central criterion if it addresses an area of real need in which there is a national programme enjoying strong government commitment and support. Over the years, the Country Programme Framework (CPF) also became well established as a programme design and planning tool — in fact today, 112 Member States have signed CPFs, 80 or which are currently valid.

For more information on Central Criterion, click here
For more information on Country Programme Framework, click here

The six thematic areas identified in the 2002 Review are central to IAEA’s technical cooperation activities, and respond to the development priorities of Member States. Other thematic areas are included in the programme to address evolving global challenges.

Responsible/Contact: Department of Technical Cooperation | Last update: 10 Apr, 2015

the Department

Regional/Cooperative Agreements

Online Tools for registered users