1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content
  4. Skip to sidebar

Albania signs its third Country Programme Framework (CPF) for 2012-2017

Apr 17, 2012

H.E. Ambassador Spiro Koçi, Resident Representative of the Republic of Albania to the IAEA, and Kwaku Aning, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation, have signed Albania’s Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2012 - 2017 on 29 March 2012. A CPF is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA and identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals.
Albania has been an IAEA Member State since 1957 and its 2012-2017 CPF identifies four priority areas:
1. Sustainable Energy Development
2. Human Health
3. Local Development and Environment
4. Governmental and Regulatory Frameworks for Safety and Legal Framework.

Albania CPF 2012-2017, Group photo*

H.E. Ambassador Spiro Koçi and Kwaku Aning

The signing ceremony was attended by representatives of the delegation of Albania, led by Ms Mirela Tabaku, Adviser to the Prime Minister for Health, gathered in Vienna to review key technical cooperation activities in the field of human health, based on Albania’s new CPF and the “Government of Albanian - United Nations Programme of Cooperation 2012-2016”.

* From left to right in the group picture, Jovan Thereska, (Adviser to the Ambassador, Permanent Mission of Albania to the IAEA in Vienna), Saimir Kadiu (Director of the Department of Finance, Ministry of Health, Albania), Alessia Rodriguez y Baena (Programme Management Officer, Division for Europe, IAEA Department of Technical Cooperation), Saimir Ivziku (General Director, "Mother Teresa" Hospital University Centre, Albania), Mirela Tabaku (between H.E. Ambassador Spiro Koçi and Kwaku Aning), Rustem Paci (Secretary of Radiation Protection Commission and Chairman of Radiation Protection Office, Albania), H.E. Mr Adhurim Resuli (Minister Plenipotentiary, Permanent Mission of Albania to the IAEA in Vienna), Manase Peter Salema (Director, Division for Europe, IAEA Department of Technical Cooperation) and Jing Zhang (Head, Section 1, Division for Europe, IAEA Department of Technical Cooperation).

Responsible/Contact: Department of Technical Cooperation | Last update: 10 Apr, 2015

the Department

Regional/Cooperative Agreements

Online Tools for registered users