1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content
  4. Skip to sidebar

In 2012, 18 countries have signed a Country Programme Framework (CPF)

28 January 2013
In 2012, a total of 18 countries including Albania, Brazil, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Indonesia, Iraq, Israel, Latvia, Lesotho, Libya, Lithuania, Mali, Malta, Morocco, Moldova, Peru, and South Africa have signed a Country Programme Framework (CPF) for varying periods from 2012 to 2017. A Country Programme Framework (CPF) is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA. Based on national development needs and interests, the CPF identifies and outlines a number of priority areas that may be addressed with nuclear technologies and supported through the IAEA’s technical cooperation activities. These areas range from human health, agriculture and food security, over environmental protection, energy and industry, to radiation technology or radiological safety.

Many of the countries that signed a CPF in 2012 identified human health as their number one priority for the coming years. Strengthening radiotherapy and nuclear medicine capabilities as well as improving methods for diagnostic and treatment purposes appeared as an important concern in every CPF. Food and agriculture, environmental protection and water resource management were also highly ranked priorities for many Member States. In addition, radiation safety was identified in many 2012 CPFs as an important priority area for the next five years.

The CPF reflects national development plans and defining national development objectives where nuclear technology can contribute. A CPF also takes into consideration the United Nations Development Assistance Framework of the country. This ensures that the application of nuclear technologies is integrated with existing development initiatives and plans, and supports the identification of areas where such technologies might be usefully deployed.

Responsible/Contact: Department of Technical Cooperation | Last update: 10 Apr, 2015

the Department

Regional/Cooperative Agreements

Online Tools for registered users