1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content
  4. Skip to sidebar

Iraq signs its first Country Programme Framework (CPF) for 2012-2017

Dr. Abdulkerim Ali Yaseen Al-Samerrai, Minister of Science and Technology, and Kwaku Aning, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation, have signed Iraq’s Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2012 – 2017 on 18 September 2012. A Country Programme Framework (CPF) is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA and identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals.

Iraq has been an IAEA Member State since 1959. Its 2012-2017 CPF identifies six priority areas:

1. Strengthening the legal and regulatory infrastructure for radiation safety and the control of radiation sources.
2. Radioactive waste management, including the decommissioning of former nuclear facilities and environmental remediation of former nuclear sites.
3. Establishment of radiotherapy and nuclear medicine capabilities for diagnostics and treatment purposes.
4. Establishment of nuclear and associated modern technologies in food and agriculture to improve crop varieties, reducing pests and diseases, and increasing national productivity.
5. Introduction of nuclear analytical techniques to address issues related to the environment, hydrology, nutrition, and industry.
6. Water Resource Management.

Responsible/Contact: Department of Technical Cooperation | Last update: 10 Apr, 2015

the Department

Regional/Cooperative Agreements

Online Tools for registered users