1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content
  4. Skip to sidebar

The Republic of Moldova signs its third Country Programme Framework (CPF) for 2012 – 2017

Mr Artur Buzdugan, Director, National Agency for Regulation of Nuclear and Radiological Activities (NARNRA), Republic of Moldova and Kwaku Aning, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation, have signed Republic of Moldova’s Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of  2012 – 2017 on 16 November 2012. A Country Programme Framework (CPF) is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA and identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals.

Republic of Moldova has been an IAEA Member State since 1996. Its 2012 – 2017 CPF identifies 5 priority areas:

• To develop and maintain Moldovan human resources for nuclear and isotope technologies;

• To improve Moldovan’s capacity on polyvalent environmental monitoring (radioactive waste management, radon mapping, searching for orphan sources, nuclear forensics and nuclear attributions);

• To increase and diversify access to radiation and nuclear technologies in the Republic of Moldova;

• To strengthen the domestic regulatory infrastructure and its capacity in respect of IAEA standards and the addressed present and future challenges;

• To upgrade radiodiagnostic and radiotherapy techniques through the transfer of a new generation of relevant nuclear technology and knowledge in medicine.

Responsible/Contact: Department of Technical Cooperation | Last update: 10 Apr, 2015

the Department

Regional/Cooperative Agreements

Online Tools for registered users