1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content
  4. Skip to sidebar

Bangladesh signed its new UNDAF incorporating IAEA activities

Bangladesh signed its United Nations Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF) agreement for 2012-2016 on 1 June 2011 at the Ministry of Finance, Bangladesh. The document was co-signed by Musharraf Hossain Bhuiyan, Secretary of the Economic Relations Division, Ministry of Finance, and Neal Walker, UN Resident Coordinator and UNDP Resident Representative in Bangladesh, on behalf of 22 participating UN organizations.  Following the official signing ceremony, signatures from both resident and non-resident UN agencies were arranged separately and Mr Dazhu Yang, Director of the Division for Asia and the Pacific, signed the UNDAF document on behalf of the IAEA. This UNDAF is Bangladesh's first to include IAEA activities. The document was developed based on a comprehensive MDG status assessment in Bangladesh and the key priorities defined in the Outline Perspective Plan of Bangladesh 2010-2021, and through extensive consultations among the UN Country Team including resident and non-resident agencies.

Bangladesh's new UNDAF addresses seven thematic priority areas or so called UNDAF Pillars:

1) Democratic Governance and Human Rights

2) Pro-poor Economic Growth with Equity

3) Social Services for Human Development

4) Food Security and Nutrition

5) Climate Change, Environment, Disaster Risk Reduction and Response

6) Pro-Poor Urban Development

7) Gender Equality and Women's Advancement
The IAEA, through its technical cooperation programme, will contribute to the 3rd and the 4th strategic priorities, Social Services for Human Development and Food Security and Nutrition. The IAEA will work closely with the Bangladesh Atomic Energy Commission (BAEC) and Bangladesh Institute of Nuclear Agriculture to strengthen national capability for improving agricultural productivity and reduction of losses. The IAEA will also work with the radiotherapy and nuclear medicine centres to strengthen and expand national capacity in cancer management and related human resources development activities.


UNDAFs are the planning framework for the development operations of the UN system at the country level. They outline the collective strategies of relevant agencies and organizations to assist in the achievement of national development priorities and the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).  
The IAEA has now signed 17 UNDAF agreements, and is participating in a further 44 on-going UNDAF processes. The IAEA takes part in the UNDAF process to ensure that the technical cooperation programme is aligned with the national development priorities reflected in these frameworks. Such partnership frameworks are essential for supporting the IAEA's objective of advancing the peaceful uses of nuclear technology, and also support a greater overall impact of UN activities.

Responsible/Contact: Department of Technical Cooperation | Last update: 10 Apr, 2015

the Department

Regional/Cooperative Agreements

Online Tools for registered users