IAEA DIRECTORS GENERAL

Under the leadership of five Directors General, the IAEA's contribution to maximizing the benefit of nuclear science and technology has over the years progressed to meet the evolving needs and development goals of its Members States while promoting high standards of nuclear safety and security and ensuring that nuclear technologies are used exclusively for peaceful purposes.





Yukiya Amano of Japan is the fifth and current Director General of the IAEA since 2009. Photo: IAEA



Mohamed ElBaradei of Egypt was the fourth Director General of the IAEA, serving from 1997 to 2009. Photo: IAEA Hans Blix of Sweden served as the third Director General of the IAEA from 1981 to 1997. Photo: IAEA





Sigvard Eklund, a distinguished Swedish scientist, served as the second Director General of the IAEA from 1961 to 1981. Photo: IAEA



