THE FOURTH BOARD OF GOVERNORS

The General Conference of the International Atomic Energy Agency at its fourth regular session, which was held in Vienna from 20 September to 1 October 1960, elected five Member States to serve a two-year term on the Agency's Board of Governors. The five were Argentina, El Salvador, the Federal Republic of Germany, Iraq and Thailand. The new members succeed Indonesia, the Netherlands, Peru, the United Arab Republic and Venezuela, which were elected for a two-year term by the second session of the General Conference in 1958.

The Board of Governors now consists of 23 members. The Board itself each year selects 13 members on the basis of their knowledge of atomic energy technology or their status as producers of source materials or suppliers of technical assistance, and giving consideration also to geographical representation. The 13 members designated by the present Board in June 1960 were: Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Finland, France, India, Japan, Poland, Union of South Africa, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom and the United States of America.

The other ten members are elected by the General Conference, being selected in such a way as to ensure that the Board's membership has a proper geographical distribution. In addition to the five members elected by the 1960 Conference, the new Board contains the following five members elected for a two-year term by the Third General Conference in 1959: Bulgaria, Ceylon, Mexico, Philippines and Spain.

The Governors on the newly constituted Board are: Mr. O. Quihillalt (Argentina), Mr. A. D. McKnight (Australia), Professor J. Errera (Belgium), Mr. R. Archer (Brazil), Professor G. Nadjakov (Bulgaria),



Allan Douglas McKnight, Chairman

Mr. M. H. Wershof (Canada), Mr. S. P. Wickramasinha (Ceylon), Mr. J. Contreras Chavez (El Salvador), Professor E. Laurila (Finland), Dr. B. Goldschmidt (France), Mr. W. Schulte-Meermann (Federal Republic of Germany), Mr. A. S. Lall (India), Mr. B. H. Hasani (Iraq), Mr. N. Fujiyama (Japan), Dr. C. Graef Fernandez (Mexico), Dr. R. Regala (Philippines), Mr. W. Billig (Poland), Professor A. Duran Miranda (Spain), Mr. P. Rochanapurananda (Thailand), Mr. D. B. Sole (Union of South Africa), Professor V. S. Emelyanov (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics), Mr. M. I. Michaels (United Kingdom), Mr. Paul Foster (United States of America).

At its first meeting the new Board elected Mr. Allan Douglas McKnight (Australia) as its Chairman and Professor G. Nadjakov (Bulgaria) and Dr. C. Graef Fernandez (Mexico) as Vice-Chairmen.



Gueorgui Nadjakov, Vice Chairman



Carlos Graef Fernandez, Vice Chairman