Sac

The United Nations Scientific Advisory Committee was established by a resolution of the General Assembly in 1954 to advise the Secretary General on arrangements for the First International Conference on the Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy, held in the following year. After the Second Conference, held in 1958, the General Assembly unanimously approved a resolution recording its satisfaction with the results it had achieved. and extending the life of the Scientific Advisory Committee. This Committee was charged with the task of advising and assisting the Secretary General, at his request, on all matters relating to the peaceful uses of atomic energy with which the United Nations may be concerned. UNSAC consists today of a small group of distinguished scientists, leaders in their field. Some of them are also members of a similar Scientific Advisory Committee set up by decision of the IAEA Board of Governors to advise on the scientific programme of the Agency.

Brief notes on each of these men appear on the following pages.





São Paulo and Paris Universities and has held a number of high university appointments including a full professorship in experimental physics at the Escola Politecnica from 1938 to 1964. He was a member of the National Research Council of Brazil from 1951 to 1964; Chief of the Division of Nuclear Engineering and Director of the Brazilian Instituto de Energia Atômica from 1961 to 1963; Vice-President of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences from 1959 to 1964; Chairman of the Brazilian Nuclear Energy Committee in 1964—65; he has sat as an alternate to the Governor from Brazil

on the IAEA Board. Since 1967 Prof. Cintra do Prado has been a member of the International Commission on Weights and Measures, and he is a consultant to Centrais Electricas de São Paulo. His nuclear interests are in management, power reactors and the economics of nuclear power, and nuclear engineering. (UNSAC and IAEA SAC)

Professor ISIDOR I. RABI was made Nobel Laureate in Physics in



1944 and won the Atoms for Peace Award in 1967. He was born in 1898 and was educated at Cornell and Columbia Universities; he was appointed Professor of Physics at Columbia in 1937 and was made Professor Emeritus there in 1967. Prof. Rabi, who has held many high appointments for the United States Government, was a vicechairman of the first three International Conferences on the Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy. Prof. Rabi is a member of both the UNSAC and of the IAEA SAC.

Dr. BERTRAND GOLDSCHMIDT won the Atoms for Peace Award



in 1967. He was born in 1912 and was educated at the Ecole de Physique et de Chimie, Faculté des Sciences de Paris. From 1946 to 1959 he was head of the Chemistry Division of the French Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique ; in 1959 he was appointed head of the CEA department of External Relations and Planning. Since 1957 he has represented France on the IAEA Board. Dr. Goldschmidt is a member of both the UN and IAEA Scientific Advisory Committees; from 1955 to 1958 he was executive Vice-President of the European Atomic Energy Society. His nuclear interests

are especially in nuclear chemistry and the technique of plutonium production, and in the history of nuclear energy. (UNSAC and IAEA SAC)

Professor VIKRAM A. SARABHAI was born in 1919 and educated at



Bombay and at Cambridge Universities. From 1947 to 1965 he was Professor of Cosmic Ray Physics and from 1965 Director of the Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad, India. Among his other appointments he became in 1966 Chairman of the Indian Atomic Energy Commission. Dr. Sarabhai was named President of the IAEA General Conference in 1970. His nuclear interests are in the field of cosmic ray intensity variations with a view to understanding the electromagnetic state of interplanetary space as affected by solar activity; in addition to leading an active group at Ahmedabad, Dr. Sarabhai has a research project at the Laboratory for Nuclear Sciences at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he is a Visitor, and at the High Altitude Laboratory at Chacaltaya, Bolivia.

Dr. WILFRED BENNETT LEWIS won the Atoms for Peace Award in



1967. He was born in 1908 and was educated at Cambridge University. From 1946 to 1952 Dr. Lewis was Director of the Atomic Energy Division of the National Research Council of Canada; in 1952 he was appointed Vice-President for Research and Development and in 1963 senior Vice-President, Science, with Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd. He is a member of both Scientific Advisory Committees, and of the UN Secretary General's Committee of Experts on the Implications of Nuclear Weapons set up in 1967. Dr. Lewis' nuclear interests are in research management, especially

reactor physics and economics, neutron cross-sections, reactor fuel characteristics, fuel cycles, measurements and instruments. (UNSAC and IAEA SAC)

Professor DMITRII IVANOVICH BLOKHINTSEV, of the Joint Institute



for Nuclear Research, Dubna, near Moscow, was born in 1908 and was educated at Moscow University, where he has been Professor of Theoretical Physics since 1936. He is Director of the Theoretical Physics Laboratory of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research; a member of the Commission de Travail, International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, and a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the Ukrainian SSR and of the USSR Academy of Sciences. His special interests include the theory of elementary particles, nuclear power and the philoso-

phy of science. Professor Blokhintsev took part in work on the construction of the Obninsk nuclear power station, which entered into service in 1954.