

Information Circular

INFCIRC/193/Add.20

Date: 26 May 2008

General Distribution

Original: English

Protocol Additional to the Agreement between the Republic of Austria, the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Republic of Finland, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Hellenic Republic, Ireland, the Italian Republic, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Portuguese Republic, the Kingdom of Spain, the Kingdom of Sweden, the European Atomic Energy Community and the International Atomic Energy Agency in implementation of Article III, (1) and (4) of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

Accession of Cyprus

1. Article 17.a. of the Protocol Additional¹ to the Agreement² between the Republic of Austria, the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Republic of Finland, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Hellenic Republic, Ireland, the Italian Republic, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Portuguese Republic, the Kingdom of Spain, the Kingdom of Sweden, the European Atomic Energy Community and the International Atomic Energy Agency in implementation of Article III, (1) and (4) of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear

¹ Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.8.

² Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193.

Weapons (NPT)³ provides that the Additional Protocol shall come into force on the date on which the Agency receives from the Community and the Signatory States written notification that their respective requirements for entry into force have been met. Article 23(a) of INFCIRC/193 provides the means for non-signatory States of the Additional Protocol to express their consent to be bound by the Additional Protocol.

- 2. The Additional Protocol which came into force for the above-mentioned original signatories (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, the Community and the Agency) on 30 April 2004, has also entered into force for Estonia⁴, Hungary⁵, Lithuania⁶, Malta⁵, Poland⁷, Slovakia⁴ and Slovenia⁸.
- 3. The Agency received from the Republic of Cyprus on 22 August 2007 and from the European Atomic Energy Community on 1 May 2008, notification that their respective requirements had been met. Accordingly, the Additional Protocol came into force for Cyprus on 1 May 2008.

³ Reproduced in document INFCIRC/140.

⁴ Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.10.

⁵ Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.16.

⁶ Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.18.

⁷ Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.14.

⁸ Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.12.