

Information Circular

INFCIRC/2/Rev.62

Date: 18 October 2006

General Distribution

Original: English

The Members of the Agency

On 18 October 2006 the 142 Members* of the Agency were as follows:

Afghanistan, Islamic	Ecuador	Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	Senegal
Republic of	Egypt	Liechtenstein	Serbia
Albania	El Salvador	Lithuania	Seychelles
Algeria	Eritrea	Luxembourg	Sierra Leone
Angola	Estonia	Madagascar	Singapore
Argentina	Ethiopia	Malawi	Slovakia
Armenia	Finland	Malaysia	Slovenia
Australia	France	Mali	South Africa
Austria	Gabon	Malta	Spain
Azerbaijan	Georgia	Marshall Islands	Sri Lanka
Bangladesh	Germany	Mauritania, Islamic	Sudan
Belarus	Ghana	Republic of	Sweden
Belgium	Greece	Mauritius	Switzerland
Belize	Guatemala	Mexico	Syrian Arab Republic
Benin	Haiti	Monaco	Tajikistan
Bolivia	Holy See	Mongolia	Thailand
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Honduras	Morocco	The Former Yugoslav
Botswana	Hungary	Mozambique	Republic of Macedonia
Brazil	Iceland	Myanmar	Tunisia
Bulgaria	India	Namibia	Turkey
Burkina Faso	Indonesia	Netherlands	Uganda
Cameroon	Iran, Islamic	New Zealand	Ukraine
Canada	Republic of	Nicaragua	United Arab Emirates
Central African Republic	Iraq	Niger	United Kingdom of Great
Chad	Ireland	Nigeria	Britain and Northern
Chile	Israel	Norway	Ireland
China	Italy	Pakistan	United Republic of
Colombia	Jamaica	Panama	Tanzania
Costa Rica	Japan	Paraguay	United States of America
Côte d'Ivoire	Jordan	Peru	Uruguay
Croatia	Kazakhstan	Philippines	Uzbekistan
Cuba	Kenya	Poland	Venezuela, Bolivarian
Cyprus	Korea, Republic of	Portugal	Republic of
Czech Republic	Kuwait	Qatar	Vietnam
Democratic Republic of	Kyrgyzstan	Republic of Moldova	Yemen
the Congo	Latvia	Romania	Zambia
Denmark	Lebanon	Russian Federation	Zimbabwe
Dominican Republic	Liberia	Saudi Arabia	

^{*} The new Members since the last list of Member States was issued (INFCIRC/2/Rev.61) are Belize, Mozambique and Malawi, which deposited their Instruments of Acceptance of the Statute on 31 March 2006, 18 September 2006 and 2 October 2006 respectively. The Attachment hereto shows the dates on which the present 142 Member States became Members.

$\begin{tabular}{ll} \textbf{Dates of deposit of instrument of ratification} \\ \textbf{or acceptance by States thereby becoming a member of the Agency}^1 \\ \end{tabular}$

Afghanistan, Islamic Republic of	1957-05-31	Estonia Ethiopia Finland France Gabon	1992-01-31
Albania	1957-08-23		1957-09-30
Algeria	1963-12-24		1958-01-07
Angola	1999-11-09		1957-07-29
Argentina	1957-10-03		1964-01-21
Armenia	1993-09-27	Georgia Germany Ghana Greece Guatemala	1996-02-23
Australia	1957-07-29		1957-10-01
Austria	1957-05-10		1960-09-28
Azerbaijan	2001-05-30		1957-09-30
Bangladesh	1972-09-27		1957-03-29
Belarus	1957-04-08	Haiti Holy See Honduras Hungary Iceland	1957-10-07
Belgium	1958-04-29		1957-08-20
Belize	2006-03-31		2003-02-24
Benin	1999-05-26		1957-08-08
Bolivia	1963-03-15		1957-08-06
Bosnia and Herzegovina	1995-09-19	India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland	1957-07-16
Botswana	2002-03-20		1957-08-07
Brazil	1957-07-29		1958-09-16
Bulgaria	1957-08-17		1959-03-04
Burkina Faso	1998-09-14		1970-01-06
Cameroon Canada Central African Republic Chad Chile	1964-07-13	Israel	1957-07-12
	1957-07-29	Italy	1957-09-30
	2001-01-05	Jamaica	1965-12-29
	2005-11-02	Japan	1957-07-16
	1960-09-19	Jordan	1966-04-18
China Colombia Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire Croatia	1984-01-01	Kazakhstan	1994-02-14
	1960-09-30	Kenya	1965-07-12
	1965-03-25	Korea, Republic of	1957-08-08
	1963-11-19	Kuwait	1964-12-01
	1993-02-12	Kyrgyzstan	2003-09-10
Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic Democratic Republic of the Congo Denmark	1957-10-01	Latvia	1997-04-10
	1965-06-07	Lebanon	1961-06-29
	1993-09-27	Liberia	1962-10-05
	1961-10-10	Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	1963-09-09
	1957-07-16	Liechtenstein	1968-12-13
Dominican Republic	1957-07-11	Lithuania	1993-11-18
Ecuador	1958-03-03	Luxembourg	1958-01-29
Egypt	1957-09-04	Madagascar	1965-03-22
El Salvador	1957-11-22	Malawi	2006-10-02
Eritrea	2002-12-20	Malaysia	1969-01-15

¹ This list refers to those States which were members of the Agency on 18 October 2006.

Mali Malta Marshall Islands	1961-08-10 1997-09-29 1994-01-26	Slovakia Slovenia South Africa	1993-09-27 1992-09-21 1957-06-06
Mauritania, Islamic Republic of Mauritius	2004-11-23 1974-12-31	Spain Sri Lanka	1957-08-26 1957-08-22
Mexico	1958-04-07	Sudan	1958-07-17
Monaco	1957-09-19	Sweden	1957-06-19
Mongolia	1973-09-20	Switzerland	1957-04-05
Morocco	1957-09-17	Syrian Arab Republic	1963-06-06
Mozambique	2006-09-18	Tajikistan	2001-09-10
Myanmar	1957-10-18	Thailand	1957-10-15
Namibia	1983-02-17	The Former Yugoslav	
Netherlands	1957-07-30	Republic of Macedonia	1994-02-25
New Zealand	1957-09-13	Tunisia	1957-10-14
Nicaragua	1977-03-25	Turkey	1957-07-19
		Uganda	1967-08-30
Niger	1969-03-27		
Nigeria	1964-03-25	Ukraine	1957-07-31
Norway	1957-06-10	United Arab Emirates	1976-01-15
Pakistan	1957-05-02	United Kingdom of Great	
Panama	1966-03-02	Britain and Northern Ireland	1957-07-29
		United Republic of Tanzania	1976-01-06
Paraguay	1957-09-30	United States of America	1957-07-29
Peru	1957-09-30		
Philippines	1958-09-02	Uruguay	1963-01-22
Poland	1957-07-31	Uzbekistan	1994-01-26
Portugal	1957-07-12	Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of	1957-08-19
Qatar	1976-02-27	Vietnam	1957-09-24
Republic of Moldova	1997-09-24	Yemen	1994-10-14
Romania	1957-04-12		
Russian Federation	1957-04-08	Zambia	1969-01-08
Saudi Arabia	1962-12-13	Zimbabwe	1986-08-01
Senegal	1960-11-01		
Serbia	$2001-10-31^2$		
Seychelles	2003-04-22		
Sierra Leone	1967-06-04		
Singapore	1967-01-05		

States whose applications for membership of the Agency have been approved by the General Conference but which have not yet deposited the instrument of acceptance of the Statute:

 $\begin{array}{lll} \mbox{Montenegro} & \mbox{GC(50)/RES/4} \\ \mbox{Palau} & \mbox{GC(50)/RES/3} \\ \mbox{Togo} & \mbox{GC(48)/RES/2} \end{array}$

² The Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia originally became a Member of the IAEA on 17 September 1957. The Federal Republic of Yugoslavia became a new Member on 31 October 2001 and changed its name to "Serbia and Montenegro" on 4 February 2003. With the Declaration of Independence of Montenegro on 3 June 2006, the membership of Serbia and Montenegro was continued by the Republic of Serbia.