

INF

INFCIRC/569 3 July 1998

GENERAL Distr. Original: ENGLISH

Communication of 26 June 1998 received from the Permanent Mission of the United Kingdom to the International Atomic Energy Agency

Attached is a communication received from the Permanent Mission of the United Kingdom, forwarding a statement by States composing the Zangger Committee, for the information of Member States.



United Kingdom Mission

Jaurèsgasse 12 A-1030 Vienna Austria

Telephone: 71613-0 Facsimile: 71613-4900

26 June 1998

Mr Mohamed ElBaradei Director General IAEA Vienna

Dear Mr Elbaradei,

ZANGGER COMMITTEE: STATEMENT OF INDIA/PAKISTAN NUCLEAR TESTS

1. In my capacity as Secretary of the Zangger Committee, I have been asked by the Committee to send you the attached statement adopted by the Committee, on the recent nuclear tests conducted by India and Pakistan, with the request that it be circulated to Member States as an information document.

Jours siccorely, Carol Cliff.

Carol Cliff Secretary

Zangger Committee Statement on India's and Pakistan's Nuclear Tests

The Zangger Committee held a regularly scheduled meeting in Vienna on May 28, 1998 to discuss implementation of the export control requirements of the non-proliferation treaty (NPT). Members also discussed recent events relevant to nuclear non-proliferation and issued the following statement in that regard:

"Members of the Zangger Committee strongly deplore the multiple nuclear tests recently conducted by India, and subsequently by Pakistan. They express their grave concern and regret at the damaging impact of these tests on global efforts to prevent nuclear proliferation and they call on India and Pakistan to refrain from further testing and to exercise maximum restraint.

As nuclear supplier states and parties to the NPT, members of the Zangger Committee reaffirm their commitment to the NPT, to universal adherence thereto, and to the conditions on nuclear exports contained in the treaty. They urge India and Pakistan to adhere to the NPT as it stands without modifications."

The Zangger Committee (named in honor of its first chairman Claude Zangger, and also known as the NPT Exporters Committee) consists of nuclear supplier states which are parties to the NPT. Current members are Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, China, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, the Russian Federation, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The Committee has met regularly since 1971 to develop a common understanding of how to implement the safeguards requirements for nuclear exports contained in article III.2 of the NPT.

Vienna, June 1998