

### **SUMMARY OF MEETINGS**

#### held on Tuesday, 17 September 2019

## Plenary 3rd meeting

The Conference resumed consideration of item 7 of the provisional agenda, "General debate and Annual Report for 2018". Statements were made by Austria, Madagascar, Lesotho, Ethiopia, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Lithuania, Norway, Cuba, Latvia, Estonia, Burkina Faso, Monaco, Sri Lanka, Germany, Zimbabwe, Azerbaijan, Zambia, the United Republic of Tanzania, Canada, Yemen, Iraq and Uruguay.

# Committee of the Whole 2nd meeting

The Committee agreed to recommend the following to the Conference for adoption:

- under agenda item 16, "Strengthening the Agency's technical cooperation activities", draft resolutions GC(63)/COM.5/L.9 and GC(63)/COM.5/L.10;
- under agenda item 17, "Strengthening the Agency's activities related to nuclear science, technology and applications", draft resolutions GC(63)/COM.5/L.6 and GC(63)/COM.5/L.11;
- under agenda item 23, "Amendment of Article VI of the Statute", draft decision GC(63)/COM.5/L.13; and
- under agenda item 24, "Personnel", draft resolution GC(63)/COM.5/L.5.

The Committee also dealt with:

— agenda item 22, "Promotion of efficiency and effectiveness of the IAEA decision making process".





### Plenary 4th meeting

The Conference resumed consideration of item 7 of the provisional agenda, "General debate and Annual Report for 2018". Statements were made by Bahrain, Rwanda, Cambodia, Burundi, Kuwait, Morocco, Lebanon, Tunisia, Libya, the Dominican Republic, the United Arab Emirates, Italy, the Netherlands, Colombia, Oman, Benin, Ukraine, Qatar, Ireland, Belgium and Slovenia. The following Member States exercised their rights of reply: the Islamic Republic of Iran and the Russian Federation.

The Conference resumed item 1 "Election of officers and the appointment of the General Committee". It elected the delegate of the Republic of Moldova as additional Vice-President of the Conference and the delegates of the Czech Republic and the Russian Federation as additional members of the General Committee.

The seven Vice-Presidents of the Conference are the delegates of Costa Rica, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Malaysia, Morocco, the Netherlands, the Republic of Moldova and the United States of America.

The six additional members to the General Committee are the delegates of Angola, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Luxembourg, the Russian Federation and the United Arab Emirates.