

## **General Conference**

GC(69)/7 Date: 11 July 2025

**General Distribution** 

Original: English

#### Sixty-ninth regular session

Item 11 of the provisional agenda (GC(69)/1 and Add.1

## Amendment to Article XIV.A of the Statute

Report by the Director General

- 1. On 1 October 1999, in resolution GC(43)/RES/8, the General Conference, at its 43rd regular session, approved an amendment to Article XIV.A of the Agency's Statute. In 2004, the Secretariat submitted document GC(48)/INF/8 to the General Conference at its 48th regular session to inform Member States of progress in acceptance by Member States of the amendment and to reiterate the benefits of biennial budgeting.
- 2. By decisions GC(49)/DEC/13, GC(50)/DEC/11, GC(51)/DEC/14, GC(52)/DEC/9, GC(53)/DEC/11, GC(54)/DEC/11, GC(55)/DEC/10, GC(56)/DEC/9, GC(57)/DEC/10, GC(58)/DEC/9, GC(59)/DEC/10, GC(60)/DEC/10, GC(61)/DEC/10, GC(62)/DEC/10, GC(63)/DEC/11,GC(64)/DEC/10, GC(65)/DEC/11, GC(66)/DEC/10, GC(67)/DEC/9, and GC(68)/DEC/9 "the General Conference encourage[d] and urge[d] Member States that ha[d] not yet deposited an instrument of acceptance of this amendment to do so as soon as feasible in order to allow the benefits of biennial budgeting to be attained."
- 3. In the context of current resource constraints, Member States' attention is drawn to the fact that the current process of adopting annual budgets draws considerable resources both from the Secretariat and from Member States, which could be utilized otherwise.
- 4. The purpose of this document is to provide an updated report to Member States on the progress made.

#### **Progress Made towards Entry into Force**

- 5. In accordance with Article XVIII.C(ii) of the Statute, two-thirds of all Member States of the Agency (i.e. 120 States as of the date of this document) have to accept the amendment in order for it to enter into force. Since the report to the last regular session of the General Conference, the Agency has been informed by the depositary Government that no new Member State has accepted the amendment. Consequently, the number of Member States that have accepted the amendment remains at sixty-two.
- 6. Attached as an Annex is a list of those States whose acceptance of the amendment has been notified by the depositary Government to the Agency as of 12 June 2025.

# ACCEPTANCE OF AMENDMENT TO ARTICLE XIV.A OF THE IAEA STATUTE

### (As informed by the depositary Government)

#### **As of 12 June 2025**

Member State	<b>Date of Acceptance</b>
1. Albania	26 September 2008
2. Algeria	13 June 2001
3. Argentina	29 May 2002
4. Australia	7 October 2014
5. Austria	3 November 2006
6. Belarus	16 March 2001
7. Belgium	28 January 2022
8. Bosnia and Herzegovina	16 September 2013
9. Brazil	29 November 2007
10. Bulgaria	17 July 2003
11. Canada	15 September 2000
12. Colombia	7 August 2014
13. Croatia	3 November 2000
14. Cyprus	9 February 2012
15. Czech Republic	9 April 2002
16. Denmark	17 August 2010
17. Ecuador	26 April 2016
18. Estonia	17 November 2009
19. Finland	14 June 2000
20. France	2 May 2001
21. Germany	20 September 2001
22. Greece	15 June 2001
23. Holy See	2 February 2001
24. Hungary	18 October 2004
25. Iceland	4 April 2007
26. Iran, Islamic Republic of	22 October 2001
27. Ireland	29 November 2000
28. Italy	3 December 2002
29. Japan	29 June 2004

30. Kazakhstan	25 February 2019
31. Kenya	2 April 2007
32. Korea, Republic of	11 February 2000
33. Latvia	8 December 2004
34. Liechtenstein	2 April 2001
35. Lithuania	6 December 2001
36. Luxembourg	14 September 2001
37. Malta	30 December 1999
38. Mexico	11 January 2012
39. Monaco	11 April 2001
40. Namibia	29 November 2023
41. Myanmar	7 May 2001
42. Netherlands, Kingdom of the	12 March 2002
43. Norway	9 January 2007
44. Pakistan	20 June 2000
45. Peru	14 October 2004
46. Poland	20 December 2001
47. Portugal	10 October 2013
48. Republic of Moldova	3 January 2014
49. Romania	26 June 2001
50. San Marino	25 June 2018
51. Seychelles	6 December 2005
52. Slovakia	29 October 2002
53. Slovenia	3 April 2000
54. South Africa	15 September 2011
55. Spain	14 October 2004
56. Sweden	13 July 2001
57. Switzerland	24 August 2000
58. Syrian Arab Republic	3 February 2010
59. Tunisia	10 August 2006
60. Türkiye	11 January 2006
61. Ukraine	12 February 2003
62. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	2 January 2001