

General Conference

GC(67)/1/Add.3 Date: 18 August 2023

General Distribution

Original: English

Sixty-seventh regular session

Provisional Agenda

Supplementary item for inclusion in the provisional agenda

- 1. On 15 August 2023, the Secretariat received a request, submitted by the Permanent Mission of Kazakhstan, for the inclusion of an item entitled "Restoration of sovereign equality in the IAEA" in the agenda of the 67th (2023) regular session of the General Conference.
- 2. Pursuant to the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference¹, this item is hereby placed on a supplementary list which will be circulated not later than 5 September 2023. The Note Verbale from the Permanent Mission of Kazakhstan and the accompanying explanatory note relating to the inclusion of this item are attached hereto.
- 3. It is suggested, for consideration by the General Committee, that in the provisional agenda this item follow the item circulated in document GC(67)/1/Add. 2 and be discussed first in the Committee of the Whole.

¹ Rules 13 and 20, GC(XXXI)/INF/245/Rev.1.



PERMANENT MISSION OF THE REPUBLIC OF KAZAKHSTAN TO THE INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS IN VIENNA

30-35/211

The Permanent Mission of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the International Organizations in Vienna presents its compliments to the International Atomic Energy Agency and as a follow up of the deliberations of the 66th General Conference has the honour to request the inclusion of an item entitled "Restoration of sovereign equality in the IAEA" into the agenda of the 67th regular session of the IAEA General Conference to be held on 25-29 September 2023.

The relevant explanatory note and INFCIRC/1116 from 10 August 2023 are attached.

The Permanent Mission of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the International Organizations in Vienna avails itself of this opportunity to renew its compliments to the International Atomic Energy Agency the assurances of its highest consideration.

Attachment: 4 p.



INTERNATIONAL ATOMIC ENERGY AGENCY

Vienna

Prinz Eugen Strasse 32, 1040 Vienna, tel. +431 890 80 08 10, fax. +431 890 80 08 20 www.mfa.kz/en/vienna, email:vienna@mfa.kz

Explanatory Note on the agenda item entitled: "Restoration of sovereign equality in the IAEA"

As a follow up of the deliberations of the 66th General Conference and the following sessions of the Board of Governors under the same agenda item, the issue of "Restoration of sovereign equality in the IAEA" requires further progress.

The Agency is based on the principle of the sovereign equality of all its members; and ensures to all of them the rights and benefits resulting from membership (Article IV.C). Thus, the activities of the Agency shall be carried out with due observance of the sovereign rights of States (Article III.D).

The membership of the Board of Governors requires representation in the areas (Article VI.A). But taking into account that the Statute does not assign members to specific areas as defined in its Article VI.A.1., some full-fledged Member States are outside geographic areas and have no further perspective to join them.

It is deeply discouraging that the sovereign equality of the IAEA members is also an issue within the areas, i.e. regional groups. The lack of regulations inside the areas leads to a violation of the fundamental principle of equality in the Agency. We all cooperate on equal ground with due respect of all parties in accordance with universal and indivisible core values of democracy, equality and transparency. No one Member State has the right to hold a veto on geographical belonging and representation of an area as such.

An amendment to Article VI of the Agency's Statute of 1999 is an important threshold in restoration of the sovereign equality of all IAEA members, which is yet to come into force. There is a need for introducing a fair international mechanism that will complement this amendment and boost its early entry into force.

The inclusion of an item entitled "Restoration of sovereign equality in the IAEA" in the agenda of the 67th regular session of the General Conference will contribute to finding a solution on restoration of equality in a democratic way for the benefit of the IAEA and its Member States.



Information Circular

INFCIRC/1116 Date: 10 August 2023

General Distribution

Original: English

Communication dated 8 August 2023 received from the Permanent Mission of Kazakhstan to the Agency

- 1. The Secretariat has received a Note Verbale dated 8 August 2023 from the Permanent Mission of Kazakhstan to the Agency.
- 2. As requested, the Note Verbale and its enclosure are herewith circulated for the information of all Member States.



PERMANENT MISSION OF THE REPUBLIC OF KAZAKHSTAN TO THE INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS IN VIENNA

30-35/205

The Permanent Mission of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the International Organizations in Vienna presents its compliments to the International Atomic Energy Agency and requests the Secretariat of the Agency to circulate among all IAEA Member States the list of Member States not yet included to any geographic areas, as provided for in Article VI.A. of the Agency's Statute.

The attached list was codified in accordance with official information, which were kindly provided by the Chairs of the eight geographic areas. The composition of so-called group of "arealess" states was announced by Kazakhstan during the deliberations on the agenda item entitled "Restoration of sovereign equality in the IAEA" at the 1672nd Meeting of the Board of Governors on 8 June 2023.

The relevant list is attached.

The Permanent Mission of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the International Organizations in Vienna avails itself of this opportunity to renew its compliments to the International Atomic Energy Agency the assurances of its highest consideration.

Attachment: 1 p.



INTERNATIONAL ATOMIC ENERGY AGENCY

Vienna

IAEA Member States not yet included to any geographic areas

- 1. Bahrain
- 2. Brunei Darussalam
- 3. Cambodia
- 4. Fiji
- 5. Israel
- 6. Kazakhstan
- 7. Kyrgyzstan
- 8. Lao People's Democratic Republic
- 9. Nepal
- 10. Palau
- 11. Papua New Guinea
- 12. Samoa
- 13. Tajikistan
- 14. Tonga
- 15. Turkmenistan
- 16. Uzbekistan
- 17. Vanuatu