

## **General Conference**

GC(65)/INF/13 Date: 17 September 2021

**General Distribution** Original: English

Sixty-fifth regular session

## Report on Measures Taken to Facilitate Payment of Contributions and Status Report on Member States Participating in a Payment Plan

Report by the Director General

## A. Background

1. At the 64th regular session of the General Conference, the Secretariat reported on actions taken on the restoration of voting rights for the year 2020.

2. The purpose of this document is to provide Member States with updated information on actions taken by the Secretariat to promote and facilitate payment of contributions since the 64th regular session of the General Conference and to provide a status report on Member States currently participating in a payment plan.

## **B.** Actions Taken

3. On 15 February 2021, the Secretariat sent letters to Member States which had no voting rights in the IAEA during 2021, informing them of the minimum amount they would have to pay in order to regain the right to vote. The attention of those Member States was drawn to the relevant article of the Statute of the Agency and the possibility to conclude a payment plan was pointed out. In response to those letters, five Member States paid the minimum amount required for the restoration of their voting rights.

4. Reminder letters were sent on 2 July 2021 urging Member States to take action in order to regain their rights to vote; subsequently two Member States paid the minimum amount required for the restoration of their voting rights.

5. A final reminder was sent by email on 5 August 2021 to those Member States without voting rights; subsequently three Member States paid the minimum amount required by Article XIX.A of the Statute to regain their voting rights.

6. There are currently no Member State that have entered into payment plan with the Agency.

7. To date, 21 Member States<sup>1</sup> have no voting rights in the Agency.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Barbados, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chile, Congo, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Grenada, Liberia, Libya, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Trinidad and Tobago, Vanuatu, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, Yemen and Zambia.