(IWG) TWG NPP I&C History

(Produced initially by A. Kossilov)

1969:

In March 1969 the Panel on Instrumentation for Nuclear Power Plant Control pointed out I&C as one of the topics of growing importance for the development of NPPs and the area where international collaboration would be very beneficial

1971:

The Agency established a standing Working Group on Nuclear Power Plant Control and Instrumentation (NPPCI) to facilitate the exchange of views and experience in this field between specialists. The first meeting of the NPPCI was held from **15 to 19 March 1971** in Vienna. (23 participants from 15 Member States and 2 organizations).

1st Chairman of the Working Group – Dr. R.J. Cox of United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority (1971-1975)

1st Scientific Secretary – Mr. A. Keddar, Division of Nuclear Power and Reactors

1975:

Reorganization of the Group. New Terms of Reference with two main objectives:

- To assist the IAEA to provide Member States with information and recommendations on technical aspects of NPP control and instrumentation with the aim to assure reliable functions.
- To promote an exchange of information on national programmes, new developments and experience from operating nuclear power plants and to stimulate the co-ordination of research in the field of NPP control and instrumentation.

Meeting 17-20 March 1975

2nd Chairman - Dr. A. Pearson

1976: 2nd Scientific Secretary – Mr. A. Grabov
1977: A cooperation with IEC TC 45 is established.

3rd Scientific Secretary – Mr. Sitnikov

3rd Chairman – Dr. W. Bastl, Germany

1984: 4th Scientific Secretary – Mr. Vladimir Neboyan
1986: 10th Meeting of the IWG NPPCI (3-5 March 1986) (Neboyan – Bastl)
1989: IWG meeting 8-10 May 1989 (Neboyan – Bastl)

Terms of Reference were reconsidered. Main changes were in the area of activities. Manmachine interface and use of simulators were introduced. The role of the NPP I&C in safe operation of NPPs was emphasized.

1989: 5th Scientific Secretary – Mr. Andrei Kossilov
1991: IWG meeting 6-8 May 1991 (Bastl – Kossilov)
4th Chairman – J. Furet, France
1993: IWG Meeting 21-22 October 1993, Paris (Furet – Kossilov)
5th Chairman: B. Wahström, Finland
1995: IWG meeting 9-11 May 1995 (Wahström – Kossilov)
Revision Terms of Reference (originally approved in 1975 and revised in 1989)

1996: 6th Scientific Secretary – V. Neboyan
1997: Meeting 12-14 May 1997 (Wahström – Neboyan)
1999: Meeting – 18 – 20 May 1999 (Wahström – Neboyan)

7th Scientific Secretary – A. Kossilov (June 1999 – August 2000)

8th Scientific Secretary – Mr. Ki-Sig Kang

2001, new name: Technical Working Group on Nuclear Power Plant Control and Instrumentation – TWG-NPPCI

Meeting – 15-17 May 2001 (Kang - Wahström) 2003: Meeting – 19-21 May 2003 (Kang - Wahström)

2004 (June): 9th Scientific Secretary – Mr. Oszvald Glöckler
2005: Meeting – 23-25 May 2005 (Glöckler- Wahström)
6th Chairman: H. B. Kim, Republic of Korea
2007: Meeting – 23-25 May 2007 (Glöckler- Kim)
7th Chairman: J. Naser, USA
2009: Meeting – 20-22 May 2009 (Glöckler- Naser)
2011: Meeting – 24-26 May 2011 (Glöckler- Naser)

2012 (March): 10th Scientific Secretary – Mr. Janos Eiler
2013: Meeting – 22-24 May 2013 (Eiler - Naser)
8th Chairman: R. Wood, USA

2015: Meeting – 27-29 May 2015 (Eiler – Wood)
2017: Meeting – 24-26 May 2017 (Eiler – Wood)
2019: Meeting – 15-17 May 2019 (Eiler – Wood)
2021: Meeting – 23-25 June 2021 (Eiler – Wood)

2022 (January): 11th Scientific Secretary – Ms. Nelly Ngoy Kubelwa