1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content
  4. Skip to sidebar


Laura Ramajo (Chile), COP20, Lima, December 2014

"I was able to participate in the exhibition stand under the slogan HOT, SOUR AND BREATHLESS sponsored by the Plymouth Marine Lab (UK), the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Scripps Institution of Oceanography and CMBC (USA), and Centro de Investigación e Innovación para el Cambio Climático (CIICC) of Universidad Santo Tomás (Chile). Delegates and observers from around the world heard about how the increase in atmospheric CO2 is warming, acidifying and de-oxygenating the oceans with the respective ecologic, social and economic consequences."

Abed El Rahman HASSOUN (Lebanon), SOLAS Summer School 2013

"OA-ICC [...] provided for me the opportunity to present my research work to the international ocean research community, to meet experts and colleagues from all over the world and discuss with them about my results, share ideas and build a strong network with peers for future scientific collaborations."

OA-ICC Advisory Board

Representatives of OA Expert Groups and Academic Institutions

  • Mr Denis Allemand, Centre Scientifique de Monaco, Monaco
  • Ms Sarah Cooley, Ocean Conservancy, USA
  • Mr Minhan Dai, State Key Lab of Marine Environmental Science, Xiamen University, China
  • Mr Sam Dupont, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Mr Richard Feely, NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, USA
  • Mr Frédéric Gazeau, Laboratoire d'Océanographie de Villefranche (CNRS-UPMC), France
  • Mr Ove Hoegh-Guldberg, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Mr Nelson A. Lagos, Universidad Santo Tomás, Chile
  • Mr Richard Matear, CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research – Hobart, Australia
  • Mr Hans-Otto Portner, Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI), Germany
  • Ms Lisa Robbins, St. Petersburg Coastal and Marine Science Center, U.S. Geological Survey, USA

Major Programmes and Projects Representatives

  • Ms Veronique Garçon, Laboratoire d’Etudes en Géophysique et Océanographie Spatiales (LEGOS), France
  • Ms Libby Jewett, NOAA Ocean Acidification Programme, USA
  • Mr Dan Laffoley, Ocean Acidification international Reference User Group, UK
  • Ms Carol Robinson, University of East Anglia, UK
  • Ms Carol Turley, UK Ocean Acidification Programme, Plymouth Marine Laboratory, UK
  • Ms Patrizia Ziveri, MedSea project, Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona, Spain

International Organizations Representatives

  • Mr Frédéric Briand, Mediterranean Science Commission (CIESM), Monaco
  • Mr Peter Kristensen, World Bank
  • Ms Jihyun Lee, Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)
  • Mr Carl Gustaf Lundin, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
  • Mr Takehiro Nakamura, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
  • Mr Vladimir Ryabinin, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO
  • Mr Andrea Tilche, European Commission
  • Ms Cassandra de Young, Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

Government and Foundations Representatives

  • Mr Robert Calcagno, Institut océanographique, Fondation Albert Ier, Prince de Monaco, Monaco
  • Mr Ned Cyr, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Fisheries, USA
  • H.E. Mr Bernard Fautrier, Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco, Monaco

Former members

  • Mr Jim Barry, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute, USA
  • Jelle Bijma, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research, Alfred Wegener Institute, Germany
  • Mr Jean-Pierre Gattuso, CNRS/UPMC, France
  • Ms Eileen Hofmann, Integrated Marine Biogeochemistry and Ecosystem Research (IMBER), Center for Coastal Physical Oceanography, USA
  • Mr Paul Marshall, Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, Australia
  • Mr Yukihiro Nojiri, CGER/NIES (National Institute for Environmental Studies), Japan
  • Mr Ulf Riebesell, BIOACID project, Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany
  • Mr Eric Saltzman, Surface Ocean Lower Atmosphere Study(SOLAS), University of California, Irvine, USA
  • H.E. Mr Patrick Van Klaveren, Monaco Foreign Affairs Dept, Monaco
  • Ms Wendy Watson-Wright, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO