• English
  • العربية
  • 中文
  • Français
  • Русский
  • Español

You are here

High-Level Panel of Experts to Recommend Future Course for IAEA


A high-level panel of experts, charged by IAEA Director General Mohamed ElBaradei with making an assessment of the challenges the IAEA will face up to the year 2020 and beyond, holds its initial meetings in Vienna 25 - 26 February.

The Commission of Eminent Persons, under the chairmanship of former Mexican President, Ernesto Zedillo, includes 18 senior international figures, and will make recommendations on ways in which the Agency can prepare to meet its expanding workload. The Commission´s findings are intended to stimulate further discussion - among Member States, between the States and the IAEA Secretariat, and by the broader public - about the future of the Agency and how best it can contribute in the coming years to the efforts of the international community to achieve development, peace and security, said IAEA Director General Mohamed ElBaradei. The members of the Commission are: Dr. Ernesto Zedillo (Chairman) - Director of the Yale Center for the Study of Globalization; former President of Mexico Ambassador Oluyemi Adeniji - former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Nigeria; former Member of the Board of Governors of the IAEA Lakhdar Brahimi - Visiting Scholar at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey; former UN Under-Secretary-General, Special Adviser to the Secretary-General, and Chair of the Panel on UN Peace Operations Lajos Bokros - Professor of Economics and Public Policy, and Chief Operating Officer of the Central European University, Budapest, Hungary Dr. Rajagopala Chidambaram - Principal Scientific Advisor to the Government of India; DAE Homi Bhabha Professor; former Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission; former Director of the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre Senator Lamberto Dini - President of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Italian Senate Gareth Evans - President and Chief Executive Officer, International Crisis Group, Brussels; former Australian Foreign Minister 1988-1998; former Minister for Resources and Energy 1984-1987 Louise Fréchette - Distinguished Fellow, The Centre for International Governance Innovation; former Canadian Deputy Minister; former UN Deputy Secretary-General Anne Lauvergeon - Chief Executive Officer of AREVA Group Kishore Mahbubani - Dean, Professor in the Practice of Public Policy, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, National University of Singapore; former Ambassador to the UN; former President of the UN Security Council Ambassador Ronaldo Mota Sardenberg - President of the National Telecommunication Agency of Brazil (ANATEL); former Permanent Representative of Brazil to the UN; former Minister of Science and Technology Ambassador Pius Yasebasi Ng´Wandu - former Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education, and Minister of Water, United Republic of Tanzania Senator Sam Nunn - Co-Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Nuclear Threat Initiative; former United States Senator Ambassador Karl Theodor Paschke - former UN Under-Secretary-General for Internal Oversight Services 1994-1999; former Permanent Representative of the Federal Republic of Germany to the IAEA 1984-1986 Dr. Wolfgang Schüssel - former Federal Chancellor of Austria; Leader of the Parliamentary Group of the Austrian People´s Party Academician Evgeny Velikhov - President of the Russian Research Centre Kurchatov Institute; Academician and Secretary of the Russian Academy of Sciences Professor Wang Dazhong - Honorary Chairman of Tsinghua University Council; Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences; former President of Tsinghua University; Director of the Institute of Nuclear Energy Technology (INET) of Tsinghua University; Vice-Chairman, Standing Committee of Beijing People's Congress Dr. Hiroyuki Yoshikawa - President of the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Tokyo; former President of the University of Tokyo

Last update: 16 Feb 2018

Stay in touch