You are here

Nuclear Institutions in Andes Get ARCAL Prize

Ms. Ana María Cetto, Deputy Director General and Head of Technical Cooperation of the IAEA, presents the Venezuelan representative with the ARCAL Prize. (Photo: G. Verlini/IAEA)

The nuclear institutions of the countries of the Andean Group have been awarded the ARCAL Prize in recognition of their effort for the peaceful development of nuclear energy in the region.

The award is the first ARCAL Prize to be given since its establishment. The Prize was created by ARCAL's Organ of Representatives to recognize individuals or institutions that have contributed to the peaceful development of nuclear power in the ARCAL countries.

Ms. Ana María Cetto, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of Technical Cooperation, and Ambassador Ciro Arévalo of Colombia, presented the award in a ceremony held on 18 September at the IAEA's headquarters in Vienna. Representatives of ARCAL are holding their eight meeting in connection with the IAEA's 51st annual general conference.

The 2007 ARCAL Prize awardees are:

  • The Instituto Boliviano de Ciencia y Tecnología Nuclear (IBTEN);
  • The Ministerio de Minas y Energía de la República de Colombia;
  • The Comisión Ecuatoriana de Energía Atómica (CEEA);
  • The Instituto Peruano de Energía Nuclear (IPEN); and
  • The Ministerio del Poder Popular para Energía y Petróleo de la República Bolivariana de Venezuela.


ARCAL provides a framework for Member States in Latin America and the Caribbean to intensify their collaboration through programmes and projects focused on the specific shared needs of its members. It was established in 1984, and was made a formal inter-governmental agreement in 1998. The acronym stems from its Spanish name (Acuerdo Regional de Cooperación para la Promoción de la Ciencia y la Tecnología Nucleares en América Latina y el Caribe).

Last update: 27 July 2017