You are here

IAEA Board of Governors Convenes

IAEA Board of Governors

IAEA Board of Governors. (Photo: D. Calma/IAEA)

The IAEA Board of Governors met today in a one-day session to address matters arising from the 55th regular session of the General Conference held in Vienna on 19-23 September, and to elect the Board Chairman and the Vice-Chairmen for the period 2011-2012.

Nuclear Safety

In his opening address, Director General Yukiya Amano announced the establishment of a Nuclear Safety Action Team tasked with overseeing the implementation of the IAEA Action Plan on Nuclear Safety, which was endorsed last week by the General Conference.

"This team will oversee prompt implementation of the Action Plan and ensure proper coordination among all stakeholders," Mr. Amano said.

"I will update you on initial progress in implementation at the November Board. In the meantime, I count on all other stakeholders - especially governments, regulatory bodies and operators - to take a proactive approach to fulfilling their responsibilities under the Action Plan."

The Director General also updated the Board on the IAEA's plans to further assist Japan in the wake of the March nuclear accident.

"At the request of Japan, I am preparing to dispatch a mission whose mandate will include assisting with plans for the remediation of large areas contaminated as a result of the Fukushima Daiichi accident."

New Board Members

The IAEA Board also elected the Board Chairman and the Vice-Chairmen for the period 2011-2012. They are, respectively, the Governor for Italy, Mr. Gianni Ghisi, and the Governors for the Czech Republic, Ms. Dana Drábová, and for Jordan, Mr. Makram Mustafa Queisi.

Member States meeting at the 55th IAEA General Conference in Vienna had elected 13 countries to serve on the 35-member IAEA Board of Governors for a one-year period from 2011-2012.

The newly elected Board members are: Argentina, Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Japan, Netherlands, Russian Federation, South Africa, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America.

The other members of the Board of Governors are: Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Cuba, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Jordan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Niger, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sweden, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and the United Republic of Tanzania.

Last update: 27 July 2017