Head of the Department of Safeguards

Massimo Aparo is Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Safeguards. Prior to this, Mr Aparo was Acting Director, Office for Verification in Iran, since 1 March 2016.

Mr Aparo has been working at the IAEA’s Department of Safeguards since 1997. He served as Section Head in the Division of Technical and Scientific Services, as Head of the Tokyo Regional Office in the Division of Operations A, and as Head of the Iran Task Force.

Before joining the IAEA Mr Aparo worked as Director General of an Italian company in the area of radiation detection and monitoring, in the European Space Agency and at Italy’s former National Committee for Nuclear Energy.

Mr Aparo is a nuclear engineer. In June 2023, Mr Aparo received the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic.


Stay in touch