You are here

IAEA Management Team

The IAEA Secretariat relies on the guidance and leadership of its Director General and six Deputy Directors General who head the major departments.

Director General

The incumbent IAEA Director General is Yukiya Amano of Japan. He has held this post since 1 December 2009, replacing Dr. Mohamed ElBaradei of Egypt.

Before being appointed to the IAEA's top job, Directer General Amano held a number of high-level policy positions, including Chairman of the IAEA Board of Governors from 2005-2006.

A diplomat and scholar, Director General Amano is closely familiar with the work of international organizations, particularly in the fields of disarmament and non-proliferation.

Deputy Directors General

Mary Alice Hayward
Head, Department of Management

Aldo Malavasi

Aldo Malavasi
Head, Department of Nuclear Sciences and Applications

Dazhu Yang

Dazhu Yang  
Head, Department of Technical Cooperation

Tero Varjoranta

Tero Varjoranta 
Head, Department of Safeguards

Mikhail Chudakov

Mikhail Chudakov
Head, Department of Nuclear Energy

Juan Carlos Lentijo
Head, Department of Nuclear Safety and Security


  1. Employment
  2. Women
  3. Press

Stay in touch