Waste Technology Section

International Radioactive Waste Technical Committee (WATEC)



The International Radioactive Waste Technical Committee (WATEC) is a working group of senior international experts providing advice to the IAEA on radioactive waste management programme activities and directions, and supporting its implementation.

WATEC membership is limited to 20 members who are appointed by the Deputy Director General for Nuclear Energy for a period of four years.

WATEC Members are recognized experts from various fields of radioactive waste management, decommissioning, and environmental remediation. The membership is geographically diverse and contains members from both countries with nuclear programmes and countries with nuclear applications only.

To facilitate international coordination, representatives of the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency, the European Commission, International Standard Organization (ISO) and World Nuclear Association (WNA) are invited to attend WATEC meetings as observers.

Rate this page:
Follow the IAEA:        
Responsible: Webmaster | 28 Feb, 2012