1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content
  4. Skip to sidebar

New Leadership for Nuclear Power Technology Development


14 September 2011 – Mr Thomas Koshy has assumed the position of Section Head of the Nuclear Power Technology Development Section in the Division of Nuclear Power, IAEA Department of Nuclear Energy, effective September 2011.

Mr Koshy brings 33 years of experience in the nuclear power industry to this position; for 24 years he was a government regulator and researcher for the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission (USNRC), involved in nuclear systems design, testing and operations. For the past five years, he was Branch Chief for Mechanical and Electrical Engineering at USNRC managing the development and regulatory issues related to new and operating pressurized water reactors (PWRs) and boiling water reactors (BWRs). Earlier in his career, he worked as Senior Inspector and System Design Engineer for PWRs, BWRs and first generation Westinghouse PWRs.

“I am pleased to join the IAEA and take on the leadership of the Agency’s nuclear power technology development activities. Nuclear technology development holds much promise for meeting the challenges of safe and sustainable energy supply for the world”, said Mr. Koshy. “I am impressed by the expertise of the staff and look forward to a productive working environment that will support new and existing nuclear power programmes”, he added.

Thomas Koshy was a member of the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) Task Force that studied and developed lessons learned from a major electrical event at a BWR plant in Sweden and presented the findings to an international community in Paris in 2009. He served on the US President’s Commission on US-Canada Power System Outage Task Force as an electrical and operations expert and was Technical Advisor to the Canadian Regulator in the evaluation of the blackout response at Pickering Nuclear Generating Station in Canada.

Mr. Koshy’s professional honours include Officer of the Institute of Electrical and Economics Engineers (IEEE); Secretary of the Committee on Environmental/Equipment Qualification; Vice Chairman of the IEEE Working Group on Environmental Qualification; and Member of the Nuclear Power Engineering Committee (NPEC).

He holds a M.Sc. in Engineering and Technical Management from Johns Hopkins University in the USA and a B.S.E.E.

Last update: Jul 31, 2012 1:49:21 PM