Nuclear Power Engineering

Technical Working Groups

The IAEA Technical Working Groups (TWGs) are groups of experts that provide advice and support for implementation of the Nuclear Power Engineering Section's programme, reflecting a global network of excellence and expertise. The TWGs are made up of experts nominated by their Governments and designated by the Secretariat to provide advice and support programme implementation in the field of nuclear power. The members of the TWGs are appointed by the Deputy Director General, Department of Nuclear Energy. They must either be experts in various fields of nuclear power or have broad responsibilities for programmes in this field.

The functions of the TWGs are:

  • To provide advice and guidance and support implementation of the Agency's programmatic activities in the area of specified subjects

  • To identify important topics for discussion at the Standing Advisory Group on Nuclear Energy (SAGNE) and contribute to status reports, coordinated research projects, technical meetings and topical conferences

  • To provide a forum for the exchange of information on the progress of national and international programmes

  • To provide advice on preparatory action by Member States for planning and implementing nuclear power programmes

The TWGs determine their own methods of work, including preparation of their agendas, establishment of special groups, record keeping and procedures, and report on their findings to the Standing Advisory Group on Nuclear Energy (SAGNE). Activities of the TWG between periodic meetings are coordinated by the Scientific Secretary taking into due consideration SAGNE's and the TWG's recommendations. The TWGs normally meet once every two years with each meeting lasting up to five workings days. Extraordinary meetings may be called when required.

Currently there are 3 Technical Working Groups in Nuclear Power Engineering Section: